Fish on Fridays

The Fish on Fridays series is a collaboration between Gloucester photographers Kathy Chapman and Marty Luster. Look for various aspects of Gloucester’s centuries-old fishing industry highlighted here on Fridays.

This week we have photographs of Cod from the Cape Ann Seafood Exchange (http://capeannseafoodexchange.com) and tuna from the line at Connolly Seafoods (http://www.steveconnollyseafood.com

tunaChapmanPhoto MarketCod Color work © Kathy Chapman 2012
http://www.kathychapman.com

DSCF0145 copy DSCF0140 copy

B+W photos © Marty Luster 2012
matchedpairs.wordpress.com
slicesoflifeimages.wordpress.com

 

5 comments

  • Another interesting look inside Gloucester’s fishing industry. What a chilling photo of F/V Foxy Lady’s tote.

    Like

    • That one is “Foxy Lady”, not the “Foxy Lady II”…I don’t know their relationship…

      Like

      • Well, for me, just reading the name Foxy Lady made me think of the recent tragedy. It could be a different vessel, and I’ve probably seen both in the harbor. So my assumptions are wrong, sorry. I bet a lot of people assumed the same as I did. Perhaps someone can clarify the name relationship between the two fishing vessels. But to me, it made me think of the brave crew and the Foxy Lady II.

        Like

        • Documenting the fish industry here in Gloucester has been a heartbreaking experience. Our fishermen risk their lives every time they go out to sea.

          After doing my initial research, I learned the cod we photographed for the blog that day was landed by the Foxy Lady, not the Foxy Lady II, a 45-ft. scalloper.

          I will look into these similar names and report back with my findings.

          Like

  • Thanks Kathy. Great work.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

