Monthly Archives: September 2012

3rd Annual West Parish Harvest Day a Tremendous Success

Lara Lepionka submits-

What a tremendous success! I want to thank everyone for making West Parish’s Third Annual Harvest Day such a great experience for the kids. 19 classrooms visited the garden and every child had the opportunity to harvest vegetables they had planted in the spring. We had 80 pounds of potatoes, beets, carrots, and winter squash that went to The Open Door as well as a bounty of shelling beans, sunflower seeds and pumpkins that went to the teachers to use in their curricula. 
In addition to harvesting, children explored the garden, dug for worms, made drawings of vegetables from observation, and used a cider press to sample fresh apple juice!
And now for the specific thank yous!

Principal Telena Imel for being so incredibly supportive of the farm and for coordinating the teachers’ schedules.

Phil Padulsky & Stacey Pecora for rocking the special veggie samples as part of the lunch menu (the kids loved the pumpkin bread!) and providing and hauling the apples for the cider press!

Karen & J Harrison for the fabulous cider press – the kids totally LOVED it – what a treat!

Lois Lane & Lisa Groleau for knowing the who, what, where, when and why about everything.

image

Paula Morgan for donating her art boards for the day.
Parent and community volunteers: Stevens Brosnihan, Alison Woitunski, Brianna Iacovetta, Maria Puglisi, Erica Keyes, Kathy Vieira, Dawn Heanue, Kelly Allen, Cathy Fulford, Sherri Lewis, Mary Ellen Lepionka, Karen Harrison, and J Harrison, for volunteering in shifts to set up, coordinate art supplies, take pictures, pass out veggie samples at lunch, provide farm-related books for the school library, help the kids harvest, work the cider press, break down, and deliver the produce to The Open Door.

image

The following West Parish families who volunteered to care for the garden over the summer so Harvest Day could be a success!: Vila; Howlett; Casey; Coelho; Cooke; Zervos-Bruno; Magnarelli; Neves; Harrison; Dills-Murphy; Groleau; Beauparlant; Carpenter; and Ryan.

Dr. Safier for coming out and visiting us on Harvest Day – we were so pleased you could come.

image

And, of course, to all of the teachers and students who did all of the planting and harvesting work!
All the best,
Lara Lepionka

West Parish School Farm Coordinator

Northern Gannets 40 Miles NNE of Annisquam

Joey – we got quite a show from a group of Northern Gannets yesterday about 40 miles NNE of Annisquam.  Pretty spectacular with their 6 ft wingspreads, zooming low right over us. 

Around the same time we had Monarch butterflies about.  The wind was W about 15-17 kt.

Photo by Andy Bezanson from Green Dragon.

Canon EOS Rebel T2i, f/8, 1/500 sec, ISO-125, 270 mm

Gannet from Green Dragon 1Gannet from Green Dragonimage002

Lars Nilsson Represents! in Landskrona

Finally, we are back in the right time again. Travelling back in time (going westward) is not a problem, literally speaking. But the other direction “screws” the master clock.

The attached picture was taken outside the town hall were Anita works. Note Landskrona`s city arms behind.  Feel free to share the photo with our friends over there, and GMG of course.

We keep in touch / Lars

IMG_0199

Cape Ann Christmas Coupon Program: A Limited Number of Slots Still Available

The Cape Ann Chamber is in the process of preparing the 2012 Christmas Club Coupon that will be provided to Cape Ann’s financial institutions to be mailed with their Christmas Club checks.  If you are among last year’s participants and have already confirmed you 2012 participation, we thank you.  If not, please consider this excellent opportunity to promote your business for early shoppers this coming holiday season, encourage shopping locally on Cape Ann, and garner added exposure for your business at an affordable rate.

Here are the program details:

o Participating merchants extend a 20% discount on any single purchase.  (Discounts may exclude certain merchandise or services at the merchant’s discretion.)

o Coupons will be mailed out with Christmas Club checks from various banks on Cape Ann

o Coupons will start to be sent in early October and be valid until Wednesday, November 14, 2012

o Over 5,000 will be printed

o Investment:  $35 for Cape Ann Chamber of Commerce members

Please get back to me no later than Friday, September 21 to confirm your participation this year. We have limited space remaining and need to meet a tight print deadline in order to have the coupons available in time for distribution with Christmas Club checks.

Peter C. Webber | Senior Vice President

Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

Dear Friends,

Recently I attended a lecture given by an expert in a field to which I am passionately involved. I was really looking forward to this lecture and I have on many occasions actively promoted this lecturer. To get to the point, I was stunned to recognize that the third photo into the slideshow was one of my own photos, and it was presented without acknowledgement. I sat stupefied listening to the rest of the lecture. I hoped that no other photos of mine were part of the presentation. Unfortunately that was not the case. One of the last photos presented was one of my best selling photographs and the audience was audibly moved by the photo. It would have been so simple at that point to say something like, “Thanks to Kim Smith, the photographer, who is here with us this evening.”

The following morning I wrote the lecturer a very polite email stating that I don’t mind sharing my work. I simply requested that he use any one of several photos that I attached for him, with my name discreetly added in the lower right corner. In reply I received a curt and condescending note from the lecturer stating he would delete my photos from his presentation and from his files.

I spent three freezing hours before a long workday in a windy wet field hoping to get that shot that the lecturer was using as part of his presentation. Taking credit, either by claiming it as your own, or by lack of acknowledgement is unethical, at the very least. I really empathize with people who experience more extreme cases of appropriation. Some may find this case to be relatively minor; I found it totally unnerving.

I love to share information and photos about wildflowers and butterflies—as my new friend Hannah says, “You are working for the butterflies.” I blame myself for not watermarking the photos, although I believe very sincerely that most people are honest, have integrity, and give credit when credit is due. For example, when Maggie Harper, the producer from the television show Chronicle, borrowed my Greasy Pole footage, they not only ran my name across the top of the footage, they also provided a link to my blog on the Chronicle website. Maggie had seen the footage on Good Morning Gloucester and contacted Joey, who graciously provided her with my contact information. From the Chronicle link, I received many thousands of hits on my own blog. As another example, when a non-profit national wildflower organization wanted to use several photos for their publication, I gladly said yes, and only requested that I receive a photo credit, which they did provide. I am honored and touched beyond measure that people enjoy my photos and films. My policy is the same as many artists in that I request that if someone wishes to use my work for presentation, that they would please let me know, prior to use.

Enough with all that. Many have written requesting information about this year’s Monarch Butterfly migration. I have been shooting daily hours and hours of video and still photos and will be sharing all. I have figured out how to add a watermark in photo shop, but am hoping to find a more efficient and faster method of adding a signature.

Monarch Butterfly Migration Gloucester Massachusetts 2012

Happy Last Days of Summer!

Many more photos from this year’s migration to come.

Christmas Tree Poll For Our Jewish Readers

I’m curious amongst our Jew buddies here on GMG, Do you freak out when you see Christmas Trees lit up on town squares or are those just the extremists Jews in the community raising a stink?

Personally I’m more pissed off that we’re gonna have to listen to Christmas muzak starting any day now all the way through January and at “those neighbors who leave their Christmas lights up past Easter”, but then again I’m not Jewish.

I just read the first of the obligatory annual “Jewish townfolk are pissed off because someone put lights on a Christmas tree” story in the newspaper and it struck me as being a bit early for that.

I’d like to know where the middle of the road Jews stand on this issue. Thanks in advance for your comments below.

Taking some of Gloucester’s best music to Iowa on a cloud ~ and a prediction for 2020

We may be somewhat old-fashioned, but we still listen to CDs for 3 major reasons:

  1. We prefer the superior sound quality
  2. We have a lot of them that we bought before MP3s were available
  3. The only iPod in our house belongs to John (I can’t stand putting anything in my ear!)

But when Vickie had to jump on a plane to Iowa suddenly last Saturday to deal with a family emergency, she felt the need to bring a taste of Gloucester with her.  So she ripped our copy of Chelsea Berry‘s CD Live in the Moment (one of Vickie’s favorites) and put it in our cloud (the Amazon cloud, that is) so she could listen to it on the plane and while in Iowa — along with lots of other music from Gloucester (see list below) and elsewhere that is already stored there.

Although we’re fans of the Joey Approved Product series, those of you who read our posts regularly know that we’ve never even mentioned a product or service that we use — until now.  This is different.  Why?  Because the cloud is changing the way we buy, store and listen to our music more than any other technology since Edison invented the phonograph.

Here’s why we like the Amazon Cloud Service:

  1. We can access our music using devices we already own, including our desktop PCs, laptop, droid phones and John’s Kindle Fire.
  2. It’s free.  Amazon has a free cloud player for the phone and a free interface for the PC.  There is a a limit to the amount of music you can store for free, but we haven’t hit that limit (remember, we still listen to CDs a lot) and music we buy from Amazon (mostly for John) doesn’t count toward that limit.
  3. All music we buy from Amazon automatically shows up in the cloud and is IMMEDIATELY accessible on all of our devices.  Here’s an example.  John and I are big Bruce Springsteen fans — and Vickie knows that.  On the day Wrecking Ball came out, she was sitting on the couch with John’s Kindle fire and said, “I just got it.” (Wrecking Ball, that is) at which point, I plugged my phone into the stereo (because I don’t put anything in my ear) and began playing it!
  4. All of us in the family can play all of the music at any time without restriction.  For example, while Vickie’s in Iowa, she can play Chelsea’s I Wonder on her phone or her mother’s computer while John plays the same song on his Kindle Fire and I play that same song on my phone hooked up to the stereo (because I don’t put anything in my ear) — all at the same time.
  5. It’s easy to rip our CDs and add them to the cloud (it took Vickie only a couple of minutes to add Chelsea’s CD to our cloud before we took her to the airport).

Some of you may know that I’ve made a number of predictions that have come to pass relative to the Internet, music, etc.  (for example, in 1998 I predicted that by 2003 every business will either have a website or wish they did).  Here’s another one: By 2020, the most common way to listen to recorded music will be to access it from a cloud server.

And here’s a partial list of local artists, whose music Vickie is playing for her family in Iowa from our cloud (in alpha order by artist last name or band name):

Fly AmeroBandit Kings, Inge Berge, Chelsea Berry, Dennis BrennanCape Ann Big BandAllen Estes, Marina Evans, Elle GalloOrville GiddingsTom HauckWill HuntKBMG, Satch KeransPete Lindberg, Michael O’LearyT MaxDennis Monagle, Ned and the Big Babies, Gary ShaneHenri Smith

Glass Gear Follow Up From Bill O’Connor

Hi Joey,

Here’s a follow up photo for the glass buoy shot I sent you. This one shows the glass ball in the net bag used to hold the ball. This bag/ball assembly  would then be attached to one edge of a net to make it buoyant while the other end sunk in the water column to form an open seine. It’s pretty amazing to think about what these things went through when they were in use and that some actually survived the beating!  It’s also a pretty neat glimpse into the world before there was plastic.

Enjoy!
~Bill O’Connor
North Shore Kid

Glass_Gear_in_Net_Bag

Happy Rice Krispies Treats Day!

Happy Rice Krispies Treats Day!

rice krispy treats reeses with pb cups

Ways to celebrate Rice Krispies Treats Day: Make Rice Krispies Treats, Eat Rice Krispies Treats, Make AND Eat Rice Krispies Treats. Or just buy them it’s not as messy.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE RECIPE?

Click Here For The Official Rice Krispies Treats Website

Rubber Duck Public Service Announcements

This Wednesday, September 19th is a big day for two reasons. First, as a very heavy drinker of the Apple Kool-Aid I will be updating my iPhone to iOS6 on Wednesday morning.

The other very big deal as we all know and that is that September 19th is Talk Like a Pirate Day! Start practicing now, arrgh!

Coyote Attack Downtown Gloucester

Joey,
Awhile back I read a GMG blog post about a coyote attacking a cat.
I was happy to hear that the cat survived and didn’t think too much
about coyote attacks until today.
Sadly our beloved cat Daisy was attacked and killed by a coyote early
this morning. We live downtown in a totally populated and NOT wild
part of Gloucester. The coyote cornered our cat on our neighbor’s
porch. There was a ruckus as deck furniture was upset during the
struggle.
If I had known about coyotes in downtown Gloucester I would have kept
my cat in always. I hope the news of Daisy’s death will warn other
downtown folks and save at least one pet’s life.
Sincerely,
Jane Cunningham

« Older Entries