Dubliner Cheddar from The Cave

If you are a cheese lover, you really should stop by The Cave.  You can taste before you buy, so you can find just the right kind of cheese for whatever recipe or occasion you are planning.  They also offer wine and cheese tastings on Thursday nights, 5-7PM (they are announced on their Facebook page).

I stopped by several days ago, looking for something not too bland, but not too sharp; something with character, but not overwhelming.  I particularly enjoy cheese with soup – either on the side with crackers, or diced or grated into the soup itself.  (Some cheeses, especially aged cheeses, are a source of glutamate, which gives the “umami” flavor to things, which I like very much).  After trying a couple of options that Laura suggested, I settled on Dubliner cheddar.

As it turns out, I haven’t had soup since I bought this cheese, so last night I opted to try the it with some multi-grain Wheat Thins and Sauvignon Blanc.  It really worked!

I mean, wow! I could have polished off all the cheese in one sitting, but I held back, because I really want to try it with soup.

So, if you are looking for the perfect cheese for your palate, let Laura help you find it.  She also sells wine and various artisanal marmalades and spreads at The Cave, so she can undoubtedly help you find the perfect pairing.

- Fr. Matthew Green

 

2 comments

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

