Andrea Gail Builder Looking For Help

Lisa Freed asks-

Hey Joey!

Sort of odd question for you.  My 80 year old dad builds ship models. He’s in NY, but we all grew up on Long Island Sound, so sailing is in our blood.  You know I love the blog- it’s part of my daily routine.

Anyway, my dad is building the Andrea Gail.  According to him, the sister ships are the Lady Grace and Hannah Boden. He’s asking me if I can find them, or similar, and get him as many photos of deck layouts, interior, exterior, etc.

Any clues? HELP! Or do you have photos from the docks? I’ve attached some of his recent models. All are from wood, and he gets the ships plans to start the hull, piecing it together as a shipyard would. He does it all from scratch, turning ridiculous stuff into ship parts. He’ll take a thimble and suddenly it’s a captain’s chair, he shops for suede til he finds the right one for seat covers. The model he did for me has sails- he had a sailmaker cut them. It’s amazing, and quite honestly, I have no clue how he has that steady hand and eye sight at 80. I can only hope.

Anything you can offer for help, I’ll take it!

Lisa Freed

bridgecabinlobster boatsailing

7 comments

  • Lisa,
    I have a bunch of photos of Lady Grace. Nothing from inside, though. I’d gladly email you what I have.

    Like

  • Cool models! I’ve got a couple of nice Jodrey State Fish Pier shots of the Hannah Boden, taken in the pre-digital age. If memory serves, I took them a year or two after Perfect Storm was published. If I can locate the photos, I’ll scan and email them. I’ll probably never find the negatives again. I’d love to contribute to a detail fanatic’s quest to get it right. Might have Lady Grace photos, too. I’ll look.

    Like

  • I checked with my hisband, Doug Parsons, who actually worked on all of the boats you mentioned. He is a shipwright and a diver and worked for and was a friend of Bob Brown. The Lady Grace is a sister ship of the Andra Gail, but the Hannah Bodin was not.
    The Lady Grace actually portrayed the Andrea Gail in some of the footage for the movie and was later given to the Gloucester Maritime Heritage Center and then sold to a Boston restauranteur. Was going to be used for a display of local fishing but not sure what actually happpened to her after that.
    I do not know of any photographs of the vessels but you might try Maritime Gloucester.
    Gloria Parsons

    Like

  • The Lady Grace had a fire while at the Heritage Center, and then it was tied up near what is now Lat 43, around the time Lat 43 was negotiating to get the property. After that, who knows? It was Legal Seafoods which proclaimed, on paper menus, that it had acquired the boat and let the Heritage Center have it on display. I say, summon the head of Legal Seafoods. They were proclaiming their wonderfulness in letting the Heritage Center have it, LONG after the fire and the boat’s disappearance.

    Like

  • Hi love the model how and where did you buy all the parts in the wheelhouse it looks amazing?

    Like

  • please help i need help has anyone got plans to build andrea gail for remote control

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

