Thank you all for the Blackburn Challenge Coverage

Rubber Duck felt like a movie star. The ultimate was paddling like crazy and I hear my name called but I am going under the A. Priatt bridge how could … then I see Donna at the rail way the hell up there (that was a long lens she shot of me with my mouth open stopped in the water agog.)

The whole race Rubber Duck got a shout out from so many points. The race was so much fun I wanted to go around again. Improved my time a bit. Having Rubber Duck face me was much better aerodynammically and we were able to chat so much more.

Time for pizza, thanks all, Rubber Duck and Paul M.

ps. I can’t thank all the photographers because there were so many and special thanks to Ed Collard who not only was at the start along with Donna and Rick, (and all were at the finish along with Kathy Chapman) but he held my kayak as I exited and I did not fall in or over. So, improved time, nice exit, the weather and tides could not have been more perfect,   and this Joey coverage I am just now reading with all the maps is just a hoot.

Paddling around the circumference of Cape Ann, looking into every nook and cranny, cove and craggy point, underlines to me how lucky we are to live in such a place. But it would just be a rocky island without the amazing people who inhabit it.

pps. my internet and mail are down and out and even my iPhone mail is plugged up (you all might get a bunch of mail on a Monday morning reset) so I am back to finishing Joe Garland’s Lone Voyager. I thought I knew the Howard Blackburn story but this dude was amazing.

ppps. And I would be completely remiss if I did not mention what an amazing production that the Cape Ann Rowing Club pulls off for this race. Over 300 racers swarm into Gloucester High School but the behind the scenes work is done as smooth as silk. The pulled pork and cold beer are delish and throughout the race there was a red flagged boat out there making sure we did not paddle off to Nova Scotia. Donna Lind et al., you do an amazing job and I hope it is so much fun you do it again and again because I’ll be back.

6 comments

  • Thanks for the wonderful coverage. Some day I’ll be there to watch.

    Like

  • You were obviously in so much better condition this year – you looked fresh as a daisy when you finished.

    Like

    • I actually started working out a bit this winter and it sure worked for snow skiing instead of being the one who had to stop on the trail to suck wind I could be the one waiting for my high school buds to finish the run at the lift. And it sure helped for the Blackburn. The back shore is a grueling five miles that seems endless with the wind in your face. Milk Island and those snotty homies laughing seems to never get smaller in the rearview mirror. Today I felt like by the time I got to the Dogbar Breakwater I was finally learning how to paddle this boat. Can’t wait for next year.

      Like

  • you were awesome.. such a fun way to spend a day

    Like

  • Paul Morrison and RD. Now THERE’S a team!

    Like

  • Black Swan Beth

    Whoohoo! :)

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

