Monthly Archives: July 2012

Cheryl Has Some Nice Things To Say

Hi Joey,

Thank you so much for putting together such a great blog!!!  I look at it every morning (for about the last three years) with my coffee before I start work, and it really makes my day!  Wish I were there most of the time, but for now, it will have to be summer vacations. Your blog alerts me when there are good deals to be had on Groupon for whale watching and the Thomas E. Lannon cruises, and the best places to eat to add to my list of many favorites,  so thank you very much for that!  I also look forward to looking at the Business webcams and so many of them are down.  I don’t know why, and there may be a good reason for this but I really miss being able see Main Street, it always makes me feel as if I am there.  Is there a possibility of them coming back online?  If not, I will stop looking for it.  Just thought I would ask!

Thanks again for all your time and effort, it is really appreciated far and wide!

See you this summer for some lobstas!

Cheryl

Terry Del Percio-Piemonte’s Prayer Sticks Represent!

Hi Joey:  

Just a quick thank you for all the good plugs you put in for the Cape Ann Artisan Tour this past weekend!  We really appreciate it.

I took this photo in your honor.  The sticka with my newly created prayer sticks at Bond Street Studio.

lol

Terry

IMG_0242

Bond Street Studio – Elegant Cards, Fine Art Photography

Watercolor & Mixed Media

www.newmoongreetings.com

Bond Street Studios

http://newmoongreetings.com/BondStreet/

If I was the Red Sox Manager

As most people know that I love sports especially the Red Sox, but as I was watching the Red Sox – Yankee game on Friday night in my Red Sox summer pajamas, started to question my sanity.  Josh Beckett, first two innings, hits a batter, no control and then walks a batter and the Yankees scored,  which is a mortal sin.  So when the game was 6-0 I became scared, because I was still watching, but the sox did start hitting but not enough.  So as I have said many times to my husband, “I am never watching them again” of course until the next game.

This is what Bobby Valentine should have done in the first inning

Mug Up and Bill Hubbard

I thought this was the perfect image to use to invite people for Mug Up – Sunday 9:30 am at Khan Studio & the GMG Gallery, 77 Rocky Neck Ave.  Whoever owns this boat tied up in Smiths Cove, you’re invited to Mug Up too.  Bill Hubbard of Gloucester is here visiting from Melbourne, FL for the 102nd Dahlmer Family Reunion.  Bill’s mother was a Dahlmer, the 3rd of 13 kids, and sister to LA Dahlmer’s father.  Bill will be at Mug Up, so come by and say hi.

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1997277714/martines-owlpuss-interviews-and-tales-of-bong-tree

Blackburn Challenge Just 7 Days Away on Saturday, July 14

And Registration ends tonight, Saturday, July 7 at midnight.

So click here to register now!

Click here for a map of the course.  Look familiar? That’s because it’s Cape Ann. All you have to do is get into your watercraft with an oar or paddle at Gloucester High School and paddle over to the Greasy Pole but go the long way around Cape Ann. You’ll have lots of company (304 already signed up) and cold beer and a pulled pork sandwich awaits you at Pavilion Beach.

Cape Ann Rowing Club Website

Boston Latin Reggae comes to Gloucester tonight

Gloucester’s newest music venue Mile Marker One features one of Boston’s best Latin/Reggae bands Los Sugar Kings tonight at 7pm.  With just a little thinking ahead, you can schedule a perfect musical night starting at 5pm with Michael O’Leary and Friends aboard the Schooner Lannon, then on to Mile Marker One, then over to the Dog Bar at 9 to catch the Bandit Kings with Joe Wilkins.

If none of those artists tickles your fancy there are half a dozen others to choose from.  See the complete live music lineup here.

Full Moon in July

Full Moon in July

I’m running out of titles! :)

Community Photos 7/7/12

Karen Pischke Submits-

2012 Fiesta proceeded with storm clouds in the background. As an
enthusiastic crowd cheered on the Nina, Pinta, and the Santa Maria at
Sunday’s Seine Boat Race I was reminded of a quote by Jesse Owens- "We all
have dreams. But in order to make dreams come into reality, it takes an
awful lot of determination, dedication, self-discipline, and effort."  Well
done rowers! Dream On!


Meg Lee submits-

Hi Joey,

A few pics from "the other waterfront".

image

The first 2 photos are of some tall navy ships docked @ the State Fish Pier on Seaport Blvd. These were taken Tuesday morning at dawn.
Photos 3-8 were taken from the roof of 25 Drydock Ave, where I work. There are 5 navy vessels docked @ Black Falcon Terminal next to my building. I apologize for the obstruction of the Terminal but you get the idea. The sunrise photo is of Logan Airport. Photos 9-11 are from Fan Pier, taken on my lunch break, where there was a fire boat cruising around, and the Roseway was docked next to the Moakley Court House.

Best, Meg Lee


Took the water taxi from Long Wharf to Charlestown and ended up stopped in the middle of everything. A great day.
-Len Burgess


Boy Meets Seal From Bill O’Connor

Hi Joey,

I was fortunate enough to witness this encounter that a boy had with a baby seal in Wonson Cove today.  I’m not sure who had the bigger smile when it was over, but they were both very happy!  The kayaking he is using is a fantastic boat for small kids and a great value! Check out our write up about them here: http://northshorekid.com/story/lifetime-wave-kayaks-are-great-starters

Enjoy!
~Bill O’Connor
North Shore Kid

Boy_Meets_Seal

Community Stuff July 7th, 2012

Terry Milton forwards-

image

The annual Hammond Castle Psychic Faire will take place on Saturday, August 25th and Sunday, August 26th from 11:00 – 4:00. The admittance fee, $10 adults, $8 Seniors, and $6 children, includes entrance to Hammond Castle and to the Psychic Faire, as well as free admission to all psychic and metaphysical workshops, and a rare tour of the castle, led by Curator John Pettibone, which will emphasize the psychic bond shared by John Hammond and his wife.

Readings will be offered separately and priced at $25 per 15 minutes. They will include a variety of readers who offer a potpourri of psychic “tools of the trade” including Astrology, Palmistry,.Stones, Mediumship, etc.

Further information will be posted on HammondCastle.org.

I can be reached by telephone for further information at 978-283-7532.

I am also sending as an attachment a poster concerning the Hammond Castle Psychic Fair.

Thank you Terry Milton

Hammond Castle will be the home of a Renaissance Faire on July 21st and 22nd. More information on Abbadia Mare or Abbey by the Sea Renaissance Festival can be found at www.abbadiamarefestival.com and at www.HammondCastle.org.

image

image