Monthly Archives: May 2012

Good Morning Gloucester Has Been Nominated For a Best of North Shore Blog Award

I just found out ten minutes ago but it looks like the voting started on February 28th.

If you feel like the hard work and dedication that the GMG Crew Puts In Is Worthy Of Your Vote, it would be nice of you to vote for us.

It looks like the voting started way back in February so I’m not sure if any of our readers know about it yet and the voting ends June 1st

You can vote here- http://nshoremag.com/bons-2012-blog/

Once at the page there is a drop down box, you’ll see Good morning Gloucester.  It’s pretty simple to vote.

image

image

Brooke and Tristan Welty Enjoyed Their Stay In Gloucester

Joey,

Just wanted to write a note to let you know how much Tristan and I enjoyed our trip. It was perfect! The people in Gloucester were warm and welcoming, the food was amazing and the town is beautiful. It’s a gem. We’re planning on relocating there, hopefully in the fall! I’ve attached a picture of Henry the Aldabra tortoise proudly wearing his GMG sticker, representing the blog here in central PA. 

Brooke and Tristan

image

The Gloucester Fleet

The Gloucester Fleet, circa 1930 Alice M. Curtis/©Fredrik D. Bodin

 

This classic harbor scene is one of the most popular photographs in the gallery. It’s not just the interesting content, but also the artful composition, with reflections in the water that I’ve seen in Emile Gruppe’s renowned oil paintings of that time. The fishing and seine boats packed together in Harbor Cove recall the days when fishing was the big business. Mackerel seiner Angie & Vence is on the left, and the Jupiter is third from the left. The white seine boats are filled with seining nets with cork floats. The Gloucester Coal and Lumber building sits in the background, topped by its 35-ton steam derrick (crane). Coal was loaded onto barges, and lumber was carried away by lumber schooners. The company was founded in 1903 by tugboat captain Charles “Cap” Heberle, and is now called The Building Center. The Heberle family still owns it and often visits the gallery.

 

Image printed archivally from the original 4×5 inch film negative in my darkroom. Image #A8345-012

 

Fred

 

Fredrik D. Bodin

Bodin Historic Photo

82 Main Street

Gloucester, MA 01930

info@BodinHistoricPhoto.com

Like us on Facebook- http://www.facebook.com/BodinHistoricPhoto

978-283-2524

Ed, Paul and R. Duck are Jonesing for Deviled Eggs . . . so

we will have our first Mug Up of the seaon this Sunday, May 20th at 9:00 am at Khan Studio & the Good Morning Gloucester Gallery, 77 Rocky Neck Ave., G3.  FOB, Barry Marshall will also be heading back to CA and would have missed the Memorial Day weekend events, so we wanted him to be able to experience a Mug Up first hand.

Come on by, check out the new gallery look with the tropical turquoise floor, Judith Monteferrante and Roger Salisbury’s Spirit of the West exhibit, the new GMG Gallery wall, Carol McKenna’s work, my new glass paintings, and of course good coffee, deviled eggs and whatever other mug up type fare people bring along to share.  Always great people and food, and always a good time.

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

Essex River Race, this Saturday, May 19th

A crowded schedule of things to do this coming weekend what with the Motif #1 Day going full bore in Rockport. Art, music, food, all day. To get the most out of the day you could check out The Essex River Race sponsored by (The Cape Ann Rowing Club) bright and early. The race heats start at 9:30 AM. (If you are racing, get to the captain’s meeting at 9 AM at the Essex Ship Building Museum.)

The Essex River Race is open to all seaworthy human or rubbery waterfowl-powered rowing and paddle boats. Participants’ crafts usually include Banks dories, fixed seat singles, doubles, multi-oars with cox, multi-oars without cox, sliding seat singles & doubles, single & double touring kayaks, surfskis.

Still time to enter. Only 27 bucks and you get a T-Shirt and a good start to the season.

North Shore Wedding Magazine

Click any photo to view slideshow

For weeks I had planned to photograph the tulips in bloom at Willowdale, but only in the late afternoon sun. Each afternoon I headed out, the sky grew overcast. Last Monday the sun shown gloriously the entire day.

Fortunately I caught the tail end of North Shore Wedding Magazine photographing their Premier Issue in the gardens at Willowdale. North Shore Wedding Magazine is a brand new biannual publication featuring quality North Shore wedding professionals and venues, and is the sister publication to New Hampshire Wedding Magazine.

Sarah Boucher’s (Willowdale’s Planning Manager) lovely table styling for the North Shore Wedding Magazine photo shoot.

Kristina Hathaway with model

I hope this does not sound boastful however am mentioning because I just love it when people understand the design intention of a project. Kristina Hathaway remarked that she loved the feminine quality of the garden’s design juxtaposed against the masculine architecture of the stone mansion—music to my ears! The design challenges at Willowdale are multifold, yet rewarding, and from April 1st to until the first week of November you will find the gardens in bloom!

Tuesday evening, June 12, at 7:00 pm come join me in the gardens at Willowdale Estate. Enjoy refreshments and a tour of the garden, followed by a showing of my film “The Butterfly Garden at Willowdale Estate.”  RSVP to Info@Willowdale Estate.

Click any photo to view slide show

Oops wrong song title ~ the real one is better

In yesterday’s post (see here) I got the title wrong to my favorite new Pete Lindberg song.  The real title is Death, Taxes, & Matches — perfect title.

I also forgot to mention that at the end of Tuesday’s spectacular show at Minglewood, Pete led ALL the performers in The Weight, which turned into a crowd sing-along and really got to me (I’m a big  Levon Helm fan and we had him booked at North Shore Music Theatre for July 7 — bad luck for all).

In this video, Pete does an excellent version of another Band favorite, The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, at Celebrate Gloucester 2010.  Not many people can pull this off solo.  We should all be grateful that Pete’s voice is getting better!

It’s almost the weekend.  Lots of great choices starting tonight.  See the full music lineup here.

And don’t forget the Herb Pomeroy tribute concert on Friday that benefits the Berklee/Gloucester Scholarship Fund.

Spring Fling Fundraiser dance with Mari Martin and The Dirty Little Secrets @ The Rockport Country Club

Rockport Country Club this Sat., May 19th. 8-11pm. Doors open at 7pm. It’s a benefit for Huntington’s Disease that the Sandy Bay Sisterhood is hosting. $25 advance sale tix (ask me how to get ‘em) https://www.facebook.com/mari.martin.963 or $30 at the door. Food, great raffle items, and musica! I’m fortunate to have Steve Caraway, Greg Dann, Dave Koen, and Eric Goldberg on the gig. Hope you can make it.

Read about The Sandy Bay Sisterhood

http://www.gloucestertimes.com/local/x2089090827/Rockport-Ramblings-Saluting-Rockports-own-global-change-maker/print

http://www.rockportgolfclub.net/

Rockport Country Club

36 Country Club Rd

Rockport, MA 01966-2117

Pet of the Week- Shilo

Shio, Kitten at Cape Ann Animal Aid

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My name is Shilo and I am a two-month-old boy
kitten who has a beautiful black coat and blue eyes.

I am playful and curious. I will be a small kitten even
when I am fully grown. If you would like to meet
me, I am at the Cape Ann Animal Aid, presently located
at 260 Main Street in Gloucester.  We are closed on
Wednesdays preparing to move to our new shelter at
Four Paws Lane in Gloucester that will be known as
the Christopher Cutler Rich Animal Shelter to open soon!

Remember that on June 2  the Rescue Reunion will take
place a Stage Fort Park from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. rain or shine.
I have to take a nap now – you can’t be this cute and
playful without taking plenty of naps!

Mimi Lind Rufe Shows us Hers!

Mimi Lind Rufe Shows us Hers!

3rd Submission in the Series “Show Me Yours and I’ll Show You Mine”

Hi, Paul;
Would you accept photos from someone who was raised in Gloucester , but has lived elsewhere since being married ? I still have many ties , get home , and made sure that my children ( and now grandchildren ) could dive and swim off the rocks on the Back Shore .( It was a right of passage my father used to tell my siblings and me …. if we swam back , he kept us ) .
I have been a decorative painter most  of my adult life , and now am painting on canvases and really going back to my roots and doing seascapes  , many based on photos of Gloucester .
I had the good fortune of growing up in Gloucester many moons ago , and during a visit last summer , found out about GoodMorningGloucester.org . I found this blog , and really liked it .Fun . Now I will share a little . First , I have neither a FB or website for my work . I paint mainly for the joy of it  after spending many years as a decorative painter . I do have my work electronically filed , however . .
 
I too like to see painters tools and toys , and see how they lay out their palette .
 
So this is me  !  I am a paint slut  ; I collect oil paints . My box was made by my husband and is quite large . I love white and not ashamed to say so . And I use baby oil to clean my brushes and thin my paints . No more fumes again !
 
My 3 children each have at least 2 paintings done of their favorite spots in Gloucester .
 
That is my joy . It is so simple . 
 
Love to all who may remember me . Mimi Lind Rufe .
 
 
I enjoy Good Morning Gloucester and found your blog ..
 
Let me know and thanks !

Mimi’s Paint box

It’s not too late to ride in the North Shore Tour de Cure this Sunday!

It’s not too late to ride in the North Shore Tour de Cure this Sunday!  This one-day cycling event raises funds to find a cure for diabetes. There are 15, 31, 62, and 100 mile routes across the North Shore that all depart from and return to Pingree School. The event culminates in an afternoon festival full of fun, friends, food and music!.

image

http://www.diabetes.org/northshoretour

Karen Bagley Manager, North Shore Tour de Cure American Diabetes Association 10 Speen Street, 2nd Floor Framingham, MA 01701 617-482-4580 ext. 3487

Discover Gloucester Weekly from Linn Parisi

Welcome back, Joey- we missed you!

I know you were anxious to see the 2012 Discover Gloucester Visitor Guide cover- and here it is! Isn’t it fabulous?!

The amazing cover picture was taken by Jay Albert, Cape Ann Images. We love that it represents our City’s fishing heritage; our gorgeous sunsets and sunrises; our real working community- yup, we love it, and it’s getting rave reviews. Thanks, Jay!

image

We’ll be distributing the Visitor Guides locally with huge help from Daphne at Promotions Express, and we’ve hired a company to distribute them far and wide outside our immediate area.

I’m happy to tell ya that Discover Gloucester was invited to the MA State House for Massachusetts Tourism Day last Wednesday, which was part of National Tourism Week.

All the State’s Tourism Councils- including ours, the North of Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB), got together to show Legislators what each region offers to visitors, and to let them know how much money tourism generates in taxes for the State, Cities and Towns. Quite a lot of money, and thousands of jobs.

We handed out chocolate fish lollipops from Turtle Alley to all the Legislators and aides (Thank you, Hallie!) along with our new Visitor Guide, whale watch pins and more than a few Ryan & Wood Distillery wooden nickels. Thanks to our four whale watch companies and Ryan & Wood for their participation. We also passed out information from the entire region, which consists of 34 communities.

It was an honor to represent Gloucester, the Cape Ann communities and the entire North of Boston region at the State House, especially as they debate the State budget which we hope will include a larger investment in tourism so we can all generate even more tax money coming back to us from hotel & restaurant taxes, and that in turn can be invested locally.

Did you know that every dollar invested in tourism brings back $8 in return?

Italy Day 7:Positano

Woke up late and worked our way down to the beach after breakfast on our terrace. Croissant, cappuccino, yogurt.

The walk to the beach is a good ways but the stunning views and exercise is welcome.

We got down there and saw El Capitan, the beach chair guy. The Mrs had already set off to find us a good spot on the beach and I was talking to El Capitan when he started to try to give me a tip on where to sit. I stopped him half way in telling him no matter because the Boss is going to decide where we sit regardless of what he tells me.

He smiled and nodded knowing exactly what I meant.

The Mrs gets all the credit for the planning of the trip and she has done an excellent job with the help of our friends Randy and Stephanie and Trip Advisor. I can’t tell you enough how useful Trip Advisor has been in finding great little places that don’t turn up in the big mass marketing travel machine. Every one of them value and in the right locations specific to what WE like to do. By reading other people’s tips you can save a ton of money and avoid dumps or places that charge a ton because they are covering huge marketing expenses to get you to come stay with them.

Anyway, growing up on beaches back home we tend to separate from the pack whenever possible. You can tell who the Midwesterners are on any beach as it doesn’t matter if you are the only two people on the beach, they will set up their beach chairs practically on top of you.

So we go to the very end of the beach and there’s a grotto type rock structure and we set up there all by ourselves. It was about as perfect a beach day as you could imagine. The water is crystal clear. Like if you would have told me that this certain area was reserved for kings I would have totally understood and moved on but we had it to ourselves all day long. Stayed til 6:30PM. The Mrs read. I listened to music and read up on more digital photography techniques and we swam. She also did some cannonballs from our perch.

Dinner at Cafe Positano was fantastic. Second favorite meal in Positano behind La Tagliate. I’d been craving a steak so I got one with porcini mushrooms and she got some fish.

Great great beach day.

 

20120510-081018.jpg

« Older Entries