Brace Cove, Eastern Point

 
 
Brace Cove, Eastern Point ©Fredrik D. Bodin
 
My friends Surrey and Rob, who live on Eastern Point, have a view of Brace Cove and Brace Rock. Surrey once remarked that she loves it when the rock turns “pink” late in the day. I made this photograph as a wedding present for them. While setting up my tripod and camera to capture the fleeting light, I was attacked by swarms of tiny biting insects, who had colonized the piles of damp seaweed on the beach. After suffering through several exposures, I grabbed my fully extended tripod with camera still attached and ran for the car. I’ve since learned to wear pants and long sleeved shirts, a hat, and carry insect repellant on photographic outings, just as I do for clamming and fishing. Surrey and Rob loved their present, and it hangs in their house to this day. Although I didn’t have it mind when I shot this photo, there’s a similarity between my photo and luminist painter Fitz Henry Lane’s Brace’s Rock, circa 1863–1864. We’re fortunate to have many of his paintings reside at our Cape Ann Museum.
 
Shot on 6×7 centimeter transparency film. Printed from a 4×5 inch color internegative. Image #FDB9667-001c
 
Fred
 
Fredrik D. Bodin
Bodin Historic Photo
82 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930

One comment

  • xegloucesterite

    Thanks for posting that picture and the link to the painting, Fred. I grew up in E. Gloucester, just a short walk to the Brace Cove area and spent many happy days there – fishing from the rock, lobstering in the cove with a long-handled net from a friends canoe and duck hunting from the rock and in Niles pond.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

