Monthly Archives: May 2012

This Is Gloucester Joey C Black and White Series Ten Pound Island

Click photo for larger version

This would make a beautiful 16×20 canvas print.  If you would like to order any of my photos in 8×10 or 16×20 canvas I can have them made for you. Great for gifts for the person that loves Gloucester.  The canvas frame ones I think are best because they are substantial and you can avoid having to pay for expensive framing.  They come ready to hang.   Just write me at goodmorninggloucester@yahoo.com

DSC04766

Mark and Marty Morgan Represent! Aboard The Barkissimo, in the East Bay near Berkeley CA

Hi Joey,

Mark and I just had a fabulous trip to California celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. As a total surprise for Mark we spent our last night away on the 80’ motor yacht, Barkissimo, in the East Bay near Berkeley . It’s run as a B & B, terrific owner, cooked a fantastic dinner for us and two friends, watched the sun set, drank champagne and wanted to “represent”. Left my sticker at home so had to improvise.

Here we are at breakfast on the boat.

image

Rome: Day One

It’s 11:18PM here and I’m about ready to turn in.

Everything people had told me about Rome has so far not been true, except that the food is great.
People said it wasn’t clean. I’ve found it to be very clean for a big city. People said it wasn’t safe and that people would be trying to rob you blind. I’ve felt safe everywhere I’ve gone even out by myself down some dark alleyways to get some night shots for you guys.

I’m starting to think that these stereotypes are from people who never travel and have a heart attack if a street vendor approaches them and they feel insecure about how to handle the street urchins.

Anyway maybe Rome used to be that way the same way New York was before Giuliani kicked the bums out. I don’t ave a point of reference for Rome 10 years ago but I know NYC is infinitely cleaner and safer now than it was 15 years ago.

My goal in these photo is to make you feel like you are right here with me.  Hopefully the photos will draw you in.  You can click the pictures for the larger versions.  All the photos are straight out of the camera.  I dont have my computer to tweak them.

Here are some captures from today-

20120503-232630.jpg

20120503-232643.jpg

20120503-232659.jpg

20120503-232721.jpg

20120503-232736.jpg

20120503-232746.jpg

20120503-232807.jpg

20120503-232821.jpg

20120503-232853.jpg

20120503-232916.jpg

20120503-232926.jpg

Thursday night blues party with Dave Sag……..Tonight’s special guest Mark Earley @ The Rhumb Line

See what Dave has to say,

Well, we’ve got repeat offenders this Thursday at the Rhumba Line, so let’s welcome back that notorious nabob of the saxophone: Mr. Marque Earley. He’s been busy scrounging $50 gigs everywhere, so I’m more than happy to help him out. This cat is so fear-inspiring that everybody but me is afraid of him and his metamucilical stylings. So, I’m bringing in the heavy guns in the form of Mr. Pall Foss, old college chum and recipient of the Bob Mobilio Award for excellence in the field of musical theory. He’s driving down from Bangor, Maine. I hope he can find the place. If he mows down a deer on the way down, we won’t go hungry. We’re gonna play the new stuff. Paul’s a quick-draw pianist and polka wizard, known far and wide for his ability to laugh at anything, anywhere, anytime. You need this.
Following the proceeding will be one of my favorite drumbalists: Mr. Forrest “Gump” Padgett, king of the wild frontier. Solid as a rock, and twice as heavy. Of course, Mr. Greg T. and myself complete the roundup. Come early for free polka lessons. Kielbasa tasting party starts at 9 P.M. Who loves ya, baby!

http://www.myspace.com/markearleysax

http://www.therhumbline.com/

One Hour at a Time Gang

When:                  Saturday, May 5, 2012

Where:                 Back Shore:     Jan from the Atlantis graciously offered her parking lot

Time:                    8;00 – 9:00  am

Hope to see all..  will get the bags from the DPW…

Thank you again all

Donna

Bowl Painting at Rockport Senior Center

 

An enjoyable afternoon of bowl painting took place recently

at the Rockport Senior Center preparing bowls for The Open Door’s

annual “Empty Bowl” event to be held on Thursday, May 10

from 4-8 p.m. at Cruiseport Gloucester, Six Rowe Square,

Gloucester.  Tickets are available at the door $15. for adults

and $10. for children under ten.

 

Faith Ronan (L), Lisa Novello, volunteer coordinator

for The Open Door and Rachael Ketchopulos

prepare paints for the nearly 50 people who attended this

fun event!

 

Empty Bowl events are held nationally to generate awareness

concerning hunger and to raise money for local hunger-relief

programs. Proceeds from this event will benefit the

Summer Lunch and Mobile Market programs.

E.J. Lefavour

Day One Photos Rome

Our room is tiny but modern, spotless and in the middle of everything. The people watching is spectacular. One thing that struck me was the amount of green space you encounter right out of the airport. People that come from Italy, land at Logan and then drive through East Boston, Revere, Saugus and further before they see a field must feel pretty cold.

I can’t figure out how there are palm trees here either, right in the middle of the city.

20120503-151754.jpg

20120503-151817.jpg

20120503-151824.jpg

20120503-151836.jpg

20120503-151859.jpg

20120503-151914.jpg

20120503-151923.jpg

20120503-151930.jpg

20120503-151949.jpg

20120503-151956.jpg

20120503-152012.jpg

20120503-152025.jpg

Outlook for Commercial and Residential Markets for the North Shore

This morning before heading to work I attended the North Shore Chamber of Commerce “Outlook for Commercial and Residential Markets by Industry Leaders,” sponsored by the Boston Lobsters Professional Tennis Team and held at the Peabody Marriott Hotel.

Bahar Uttam (center), owner, Boston Lobsters Tennis Team 

The event was moderated by Karen Andreas, publisher of the Salem News. The featured industry leaders were Lee Dellicker, president, Windover Construction; Alan Berry, vice president, C.P. Berry Construction; Ted Tye, managing partner, National Development; Steve Drohosky, general manager, Cummings Center, and Stephen Connolly IV, president, Connolly Brothers.

Each speaker gave their forecast from the perspective of their business. The overall projections for the North Shore were very positive, thanks to rising employment  figures and the vastly improved financial market. Massachusetts is ahead of the curve and Governor Patrick is working to help streamline the permitting process. All five speakers agreed the market will continue to support sustainability and LEED-certified building. Alan Berry provided great graphics on the rising and falling worth of homeownership over the past 100 years.

Lee Dellicker (center), president, Windhover Construction

When the panel was asked about the permitting process, Lee Dellicker, president, Windhover Construction advised the audience that when you believe a project is beneficial to your community, to let your voice be heard because, as is often the case in a great majority of projects, community leaders only hear from the small, but very vocal, anti-development minority.

Ted Tye’s firm, National Development, is developing Lynnfield Market Street

Great NewsDavios Restaurant, along with a super deluxe Whole Foods, are two of the much anticipated anchors coming to Market Street Lynfield. Davios Newbury Street is one of my very favorite restaurants and when we lived in the Back Bay it was our special restaurant for a romantic evening out. Steve DeFillipo, owner of Davios, is a former longtime resident of Lynnfield and currently resides in Wenham with his family.

Morphine Front Man in Gloucester with T Max & Deb Hardy next Saturday

Remember Morhpine?  Not the drug, the band, led by Mark Sandman, who died on stage of a heart attack in Italy in 1999.

Mark’s friends are carrying on and have started a music education project that does excellent work.  They’ve also got an excellent band fronted by Jeremy Lyons, who sounds enough like Mark Sandman that if you close your eyes, you just can’t tell the difference.  They were gracious enough to headline the first gimmesound GiveBack benefit for the Mark Sandman Music Project at TT’s in Cambridge (check out a very entertaining article about that concert — and Mark Sandman here).   See a video of Jeremy and his band below (Jeremy is at the end of the video)

And if bringing Jeremy to Gloucester isn’t enough, T Max, founder and editor of The Noise, has added Gloucester singer/songwriter Deb Hardy to the bill along with himself (and he’s always super entertaining).  Here’s what he says about next Saturday:

JEREMY LYONS – American Roots from New Orleans to New England

“You sure can sing dem notes on dat GIT-tar!”
—Dr. John

Jeremy Lyons, versatile performer, slide guitarist, singer and songwriter, plays in and with American music traditions. After his home was washed away by Hurricane Katrina (chronicled in the song “Hurricane”), he moved up North but left a good chunk of his heart in New Orleans. His repertoire is deep enough that he could easily play an entire evening of 1) folk and blues traditional songs; 2) all original material; or 3) driving rock-tinged grooves. Though most often in his solo shows you hear an intriguing mixture of styles that add up to the best of roots music.

DEB HARDY 
Deb Hardy is a singer songwriter from Gloucester whose songs reflect the drama, beauty and serenity of this ocean harbor community. Her style of singing and guitar playing is rhythmic, expressive and powerful, with influences of Kate Bush, Yes, and Led Zeppelin.
In 2005 Hardy released the full length CD, Done By Water, which includes recordings of the Transmissions, the Deb Hardy Band, as well as her live solo performances from Club Passim. Deb has recently been recording with John Hicks.
T MAX
T Max recently released his third solo CD, Shake, an environmental tale with a score written, produced, and played completely by T Max. He is also known for founding Boston Rock Opera, doing one-man performances of Why Do We Go to War? and producing Boston Rock ‘n’ Roll Trading Cards. His publication, the Noise, is the longest running music magazine in New England.

Lunch at La Trattoria

Isn’t that just one of the prettiest things you’ve ever seen?

A couple of weeks ago, I stopped to read the menu at La Trattoria as I walked down Main Street in Gloucester.  A customer who was on her way in, took the time to stop and tell me how good the food is!  So when a friend of mine came to visit the other day, I took him to La Trattoria for lunch to check it out.  We had bruschetta and shrimp scampi for our appetizers, and chicken soup for the main course.  We chased that down with tiramisu and gelato with limoncello.  My friend also had a cappuccino, pictured above.

To conclude: The food was delicious, the servings were generous but not overwhelming, and the service was friendly and attentive.  The restaurant’s design and ambience was classy and comfortable.  So, I am glad that that customer I met on the sidewalk sang this place’s praises!  She spoke truly.  If you like good Italian food, give La Trattoria a try!  It’s at 64 Main Street in Gloucester.  I am looking forward to trying their pizza…

What’s Happening? Drawing on the Sidewalk! That’s What!

Git yer chalk ready – it’s that time of year again: Motif No. 1 Day’s Annual Sidewalk Chalk Art Contest on Motif No. 1 Day, Saturday, May 19th. We have categories for every age and prizes for every category. And Rockport National Bank is this year’s sponsor for the event, so please thank someone at the bank for their community spirit the next time you’re there. For the festival Schedule of Events, click HERE.

I’d like to take this time to thank Laurie Brown for recommending bacon on my egg salad sub at Virgilio’s

Great Call Laurie!

No matter how good the ingredients for a sub, the one constant in the making a sub a sub is the sub ROLL.

When you start out with the absolute greatest sub roll in the known universe which is what Virgilio’s makes you already have a huge advantage over everybody else.  I’m not sure how you can compete.   The move?  Get there at 9:30 when the rolls come out fresh.  Close your eyes and throw a dart at the sandwich board.  No matter what it lands on, it’s likely to be one of the best subs you’ve ever eaten and it’s a bargain.

#Boom!

DSC04516

Gloucester Webcam of The Day- Patty Knaggs Cut Bridge Webcam

This Webcam and more can be found at www.gloucesterwebcam.com

image

Check Out Patty Knaggs Real Estate Website Here

This www.gloucesterwebcam.com local webcam portal project was an idea I had last year to have as many webcams streaming from local businesses or organizations as possible which highlight the incredible vistas that we as people that live and work here get to enjoy each and every day.

The idea was to have the organization install the webcam, have them embed the webcam feed on their own websites as well and have a link to each business website on the Gloucester webcam portal website to showcase their business as well.

Tim Blakeley from Gloucester Bytes provided the initial installation at ridiculously cheap cost because he believed in the project.

Community Stuff May 3

Event: 3v3 Youth Basketball League for youth in grades 6-12
When: Skills night: Tuesday June 5 from 6:00-7:30; Tuesdays June 19 – August 14 from 6:00-8:00
Where: Community Church of East Gloucester, 7 Chapel Street
Registration Fee: $25 prior to May 31; $35 after May 31
Contact Person: Patrick Keeley
If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Patrick at 978-283-5527 or ptkeeley@gmail.com

2012 DISCOVER GLOUCESTER MUG UP MEETING & VISITOR GUIDE DEBUT!

2012 DISCOVER GLOUCESTER

MUG UP MEETING &

VISITOR GUIDE

DEBUT!

THURSDAY, MAY 10, 2012, 6PM

THE CASTLE MANOR INN

141 Essex Avenue, Gloucester

Join us as the 4th Discover Gloucester Visitor Guide makes it debut,

and see which Gloucester photographer is responsible for its fabulous cover picture.

A great opportunity to see the totally refurbished Castle Manor Inn and meet their staff before it opens to the public on May 18; to do some networking, and to have a celebratory drink and a nibble.

RSVP to info@seaportgloucester.org

Observations From Our Trip To Italy Day One

Day One:

It’s 5:54PM and we are almost an hour into our flight from Boston to Rome. We’re flying Alitalia even though after reading many reviews from seasoned travelers that you want to avoid Alitalia if at all possible. Reason we booked Alitalia was because it was about $150 cheaper per ticket and offered non-stop flights at great times.

Hopefully I’ll be able to get some shut eye as the plane is scheduled to touch down at 7am in Rome. I stopped at Kappys after the Mrs requested that I pick up some orange Ketel One nips to help get some shut-eye.

Plane observations, this Alitalia plane is old, I mean OLD. I’ve been on cleaner planes and I’ve been on planes where the plastic stuff holding the seats together wasn’t all busted up like this one. Even so, overall (an hour in) I’d book this flight again for the cost savings and direct flights.

There is an American couple directly in front of me bringing what looks to be a one year old to Italy. The kid has been on again off again crying and while I sympathize with the couple there’s no way I’d take The Bean and Snoop Maddie Mad on an eight hour flight and lug them around Europe at 4 and 6 years old let alone a one year old.

Thankfully we’re not sitting near to the stanky mofo in 11D. I nearly passed out walking by the filthy animal. Those poor poor people who have to sit next to him for this 8 hour flight. I’m not sure if I could endure it. He’s rotten. How do you lose that much self respect for yourself that you walk out of the house with obnoxious BO knowing you’re gonna be on a confined plane to Europe?

Surprised to see an Indian woman (dot not feather) as part of the all Italian flight crew. Also the flight crew is comprised mainly of attractive women. I guess they don’t have to fill any gay men flight crew quotas on Alitalia.

They don’t have cranberry juice on Alitalia but the nice Indian stewardess (dot not feather) just poured me some mango/papaya juice that should pair well with my orange Ketel One.

6:40PM
Dinner is served. Saying what they serve is bad cafeteria food on Alitalia is an insult to bad cafeteria food. Some salmon with hints of green tinge mixed with soggy broccoli , some funky looking pasta shells and bread. The Mrs passes altogether offering me her tray of food which I refuse and I eat only the roll on my tray. Eagerly awaiting the stewardess to come and take the funk away. It looks like my decision to purchase the industrial size package of beef jerky at Target may have been a wise decision. The mango/papaya juice with orange Ketel One is niiiice. :)

The flight crew has been better than the average domestic flight crew that I’ve encountered in the past 4 or 5 years. They are friendly and very efficient. Service has been swift and very accommodating.

7:45PM

I get reamed out by the Indian stewardess (dot not feather) who catches me taking a picture of her and demands to see my cell phone. I tell her the reason I took the picture was for an article and show her my cell phone gallery which included photos of the shitty food, an envelope they handed me for a UNICEF donation which I thought was pretty fucking brazen considering the cost of the flight, a shot of my beef jerky and two photos of the Indian Stewardess (dot not feather).

Understanding that the Stewardess might think I’m some type of sicko who intended to do unsavory things with the picture like post them to a Indian stewardess (dot not feather) fetish website I offered to delete the photos of her. I explained that the picture was part of a travel story I was doing for my blog. I even offered to show her what I had written which in hindsight was probably not a wise decision but in my head the last things I had written in my 6:40PM entry was about the good service.

I deleted the photos wishing to avoid confrontation and “getting” why she might think it’s weird even though the photo was really just to demonstrate how there was an Indian stewardess on an all Italian flight crew. So needless to say you’ll just have to take my word for it.

9:50PM

I just fell asleep about a half hour ago and the one year old directly seated in front of me has begun to shriek, waking me up. What I didn’t realize was that there was another one year old in the seat directly in front of the first one year old and they are out dueling each other for who can cry the loudest.

Now again, I can sympathize with parents that fly with children and like I said before I wouldn’t bring my 4 and 6 year old cross the pond yet but what is pissing me off is that these dopey parents aren’t getting up and walking the kids up and down the aisle. That’s parenting 101 shit. Don’t just sit in the chair with the kid screaming. Get off your ass and walk the kid around the plane. The seatbelt sign is not illuminated FFS. I won’t give the parents the stink eye as I know how much that has to suck for them but it would be nice to get some sleep.

It could be worse, I could be sitting next to Stinky BO guy up in 11D.

10:21PM

The parents sitting directly in front of me finally get up and rock the baby in the aisle after a good 40 minutes or so of their baby screaming. It takes all of one minute for the child to calm down and stop crying.

10:33PM

I let a monster seat ripper beef jerky fart fly with reckless abandon. I wouldn’t normally but It’s payback time for waking my ass up. Having trouble falling back asleep.

10:46PM

Still can’t fall asleep and guess who just walked by en route to probably lay a beating on the airplane’s toilet?

If you guessed Stinky BO guy from 11D you win the booby prize.

It’s too bad I didn’t know when he would make his way down here or I woulda saved up that seat ripper beef jerky fart and timed it so he woulda got a nice face full as he passed on his way to the lavatory.

11:50PM

Our flight is directly over Madrid. Just got about an hour of sleep. We’re flying at an altitude of 40,000 feet. Air temperature outside the aircraft is minus 65 degrees and we have an hour and 32 minutes left on the flight. When we land it will be estimated 7:22AM with the time zone change.

12:18AM East Coast Time 6:18AM Rome Time

Flying over Barcelona, Spain as the orange glow of morning illuminates the sky. Thinking about The Hot Wing Challenge 21 days from today. We should have a deep field of contestants. Should be a great night.

12:47AM

Over the Mediterranean Sea outside temp -58 C, 40 minutes or so til touch down. The flight we are currently taking has no wifi. What I want and I want it yesterday is wifi globally. On my plane, on my boat, everywhere. I figure we’re about a year or two away but let me tell you that flying without wifi makes a flight seem at least twice as long. I’m not sure what the technological glitch is that takes so long to roll out wifi on all airplanes in this day and age but if I were an airline and I already had it on all my planes I’d put that front and center on my advertisements.

11:30AM

Lunch at Virgilio’s RistorantePics below from the flight-

20120503-115554.jpg

20120503-115547.jpg

20120503-115539.jpg