Monthly Archives: March 2012

Rockport National Bank-Goes to the Dogs

Update from Gloucester Dog Park: 

Rockport National Bank is going to the dogs in the most figurative manner.  They lead the pack as the first large corporate donor toGloucesterDogPark,Cape Ann’s first dog park.  John Dugger, building committee member of the Friends of Gloucester Dog Park and the architect behind the main pavilion ofGloucester’sDogPark, has said the concrete slab will be poured as soon as weather permits for the foundation of the entryway pergola.  Construction for this phase will be under the management of Nikki Bach from Insider’s Edge and a building committee member as well, who also managed phase 1 of the construction. Structural engineer and committee member, Kelly Brancaleone has completed the foundation plan.

The Friends of Gloucester Dog Park are very grateful to Rockport National Bank’s officers, Grace Giambanco, Peter Anderson and Mike Luster for committing to a volunteer community project that will give our city a much needed amenity. They realize the importance of public/private partnerships at a time when the City is stretched to complete infrastructure upgrades like sewer, water and schools.

The Committee hopes that the bank’s lead will encourage other large corporate benefactors to help complete the project.  For giving opportunities, please contact Roger Broome at 978-768-3400. Visit www.gloucesterdogpark.org for news and updates. Cape Ann’s 1st Dog Park!

 

 

 

Out My Work Window Series- FOB Meg Lee’s Marine Industrial Park in South Boston

Send in your out your work window pic and description and we will post it here!

FOB Meg Lee writes-

Hi Joey,

It never occurred to me to share what’s outside my window at work. I’ve been working at a company for about 2.5 years now that is situated in Marine Industrial Park in South Boston. The building I’m in was the so-called Army Base back in the day. I’m fortunate enough to have a "window seat." My desk is right next to a window that I peer out of often. Though my view is not of the Cape Ann scenery I so love, it’s not too bad. My direct view is Black Falcon Terminal, now considered officially Massport Terminal. I see cruise ships pull in every week during the cruise season. I see small lobster boats departing from the small fishing pier on the other side of the terminal and returning with their catch. There’s been a lull in the activity there, as I believe the fishing season ended temporarily at the end of December. Looking southeast about a mile away is Castle Island. Further out on the horizon you can see Spectacle and Thompson Islands. Did I mention the killer sunrises? I’m an early bird; I get in between 5 and 5:30a.m. so depending on what time of the year it is I’ll be viewing the moon and stars.

Yesterday afternoon, a small navy ship pulled in to the terminal. It’s right in my direct view, literally a stone’s throw away from my window. It’s called Desron 2, and you can see a pic and find out more about it here:

http://www.cds2.navy.mil/

This morning when I got into work and came over to my desk, it was of course still completely dark out. However, I was surprised and delighted to see a string of green lights from bow to stern on the ship. Maybe the sailors are getting ready to celebrate St. Paddy’s Day?

Oh – by the way – I guess I should also share what’s currently in the drydock terminal on the other side of the building, on Drydock Ave. It’s a navy hospital ship, called the Comfort. It pulled in about 2 weeks ago. It must be here for maintenance.

http://www.med.navy.mil/sites/usnscomfort/Pages/default.aspx

Best regards,

Meg Lee

corned beef- my take

here’s the mrs’ corned beef and cabbage which I just consumed.

and it was fantastic. 

and by fantastic I mean it was a 7, the highest rating corned beef and cabbage is capable of earning.

DSC03492

please excuse the lack of caps as our keyboard is on the fritz and my tech guru tim blakeley from www.gloucesterbytes.com  is ordering the replacement laptop keyboard to get us back on track.

in any case, back to the matter at hand, corned beef and cabbage.

let me first state for the record that there may be no more jealous italian on the planet of the irish on st paddy’s day than this guy.

in the top ten days of my life after my marriage, birth or my girls and every night of fiesta at least half of those top ten are filled with st paddy’s days.  either in southie with my boys , down in deep ellum texas with my boy dk or at the rhumb line, st paddy’s day is the greatest excuse to get completely annihilated and sing awesome songs at the trop of your lungs while swaying back and forth arms around your best friends, ever.

that being said, while corned beef and cabbage can be good, it in my opinion can never ever be considered great.  to have that at the top of your food pecking order as a nationality is kind of an embarrassment only better than what my jewish buddys eat for their holidays.

I should also insert here that I’m no fan of st joseph’s pasta as cao contributor mya was quick to remind me of in a private message this afternoon but I think most would readily admit that if you put the top ten italian dishes up against the top ten irish dishes you’re probably gonna win at least 9 rounds of that competition.

there are other foods that people rave about to which I usually scratch my head saying, really insert question mark here as I have no ability to make an upper case charachter .

take corned beef and cabbage first.  the very best corned beef and cabbage you’ve ever eaten in my book is only worthy of a top score of 7 on a scale from 1-10.

you stack the best corned beef and cabbage and stack it up against a perfectly prepared mrs lobster roll and there’s no way on god’s green earth you could score that corned beef a 10.

I feel the same about reuben sandwiches.  my mil and fil rave about this deli in nyc.  my fil talks about how this deli serves the most incredible reuben sandwiches.  I feel the same way about a reuben.  like the very best reuben you’d ever eat couldn’t possibly ever score a 10 on a scale from 1-10.

10’s are reserved for delectable sushi or lobster or steaks or scallops wrapped in bacon.  in my book there’s no way in hell a reuben ever earns some kind of praise that merits mentioning.  I have had some heavenly cheesecake at some delis down in miami beach so I guess they have that going for them.

what types of food falls into your 10 on a scale from 1-10 range and what type of food do you hear people rave about that you would never consider anything out-of-this-world insert question mark here

Erin Gra Ma Chroi sung on Gloucester’s Harbor Walk

gimmesound Artist of the Week Michael O’Leary sings one of his favorite songs of Ireland in the traditional Irish style on St. Patrick’s Day at the site of Gloucester’s new Harbor Walk.

It’s not too late to get out to one of Gloucester’s many St. Pat’s parties ~ this town is just getting started.  See full music and party lineup here.

Bait and Tackle Open Casting In Gloucester Tuesday

Joey,

Bait & Tackle is holding an open casting call for extras on Tuesday, March 20 at 11 am at our offices in the Beacon Marine at 211 E. Main St., Gloucester. We are looking for a variety of roles including Fishermen, Dock Workers, Girlfriends, and Fish Plant Workers. In order to choose approx.15 extras, we will be taking a photo and gathering contact information.

This is a non-broadcast film project. Extras will be paid $50/day and must be available at least 2 full days (TBD) during the week of 3/26-3/30

Did You Know? (St. Patrick)

Saint Patrick, who lived during the fifth century, is the patron saint and national apostle of Ireland. Born in Roman Britain, he was kidnapped and brought to Ireland as a slave at the age of 16. He later escaped, but returned to Ireland and was credited with bringing Christianity to its people. In the centuries following Patrick’s death (believed to have been on March 17, 461), the mythology surrounding his life became ever more ingrained in the Irish culture: Perhaps the most well known legend is that he explained the Holy Trinity (Father, Son and Holy Spirit) using the three leaves of a native Irish clover, the shamrock.    

Since around the ninth or 10th century, people in Ireland have been observing the Roman Catholic feast day of St. Patrick on March 17. Interestingly, however, the first parade held to honor St. Patrick’s Day took place not in Ireland but in the United States. On March 17, 1762, Irish soldiers serving in the English military marched through New York City. Along with their music, the parade helped the soldiers reconnect with their Irish roots, as well as with fellow Irishmen serving in the English army.   http://www.history.com/topics/st-patricks-day

Green represents the Roman Catholic Irish and orange represents the Protestant Irish.  To this day my mother still wears orange on St. Patrick’s Day to represent the Protestant Irish part of her ancestry.  I happen to be wearing green today because I like it and it was the first thing I picked up to put on. 

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

St. Joseph Novena with the Orlando Family

I was touched beyond measure when Felicia invited my husband and I to celebrate the Feast of St. Joseph with she and her family, and to record the traditional songs and family Novenas throughout the city.

Orlando Family Alter

Rosalie and Maryann Orlando created a stunning alter; even the curtains are color co-ordinated to match their color scheme of plum, rose, lavender, and white.

Rosalie Orlando and Felicia

Last night we recorded every song and tonight we will record the music again because the same songs are not sung every night. Then tomorrow night we will visit all the Novenas throughout the city in what Joey referred to as the “crawl’ and what Felicia calls “Italian Trick or Treat.” And then for the magnificent feast at Felicia’s home on Monday night… Stay tuned for much more to follow.

Pat, Lillian, and Phyllis sharing a joke…

After prayers and singing  a delicious supper was served, with pizza made by Joe Orlando, salad, and homemade pastries. My deepest thanks to the Orlando family for allowing me to film thier beautiful family tradition. And for the very warm welcome to their lovely home, wonderful dinner, and much laughter!

To read the extensive GMG coverage and see Joey’s videos from last year’s Novenas, go to the GMG search box and type in Novena.

Live Blogging from the Brad Byrd Video Shoot @ Minglewood

Here’s a sneak peak at the sound check for today’s music video shoot of Brad Byrd‘s hit song Zero to the 101 at Minglewood Tavern (at Lat 43).  There’s still time to come on down and get your pretty face into the video.  Filming will go ’till about 4pm.

It’s St. Patrick’s Day in Gloucester and you know what that means … Plenty of music and dancing starting RIGHT NOW and going on all night long.  See full St. Pat’s music lineup here.

« Older Entries