My Nana and her Lighthouses

If there’s one thing I learned from my great grandmother, it’s the importance of being a hostess—welcoming people into your home and making them feel warm, loved and taken care of. But if you asked me for two things my Nana taught me in the 23 years I had with her, the second would be to never let a lighthouse go unappreciated.

Lighthouse and moon She loved lighthouses and had them everywhere – sweatshirts with lighthouses on them, calendars, magnets on the fridge. She loved to go driving around just to visit lighthouses in New England. Lighthouses like the one I get to walk by every day on my way to work. As I get ready to go say my good-byes at Nana Lyman’s memorial on Monday, I decided to take a little tour of Gloucester’s lighthouses and appreciate the beauty around us every day – just wanted to share a little bit of it.

6 comments

  • what a nice tribute to your Nana…well done…she is your newest angel and will always be with you…

    Like

  • Elaine Marie Lapointe

    Beautiful pictures. It sounds like your Nana was very smart. Appreciating lighthouses. I have loads of lighthouse calenders, magnets & lighthouses along with my lobstahs & lobsterboats. I have some beautiful lighthouse books. Some were gifts from my daughter. I wish I had know your Nana. I think I would of been by her side looking at those lighthouses. But I would of also taken her to Maine to see Portland Head, Twin lights & more. I know she would of loved them.

    Like

  • Thank you all – it was nice to just get out and appreciate the beauty. And Ellen, Maine was her favorite place to go – she grew up in Bath and couldn’t go on a trip North without traveling along the Maine coast :)

    Like

  • Elaine Marie Lapointe

    I still go to Maine. I love Portland Head so much. Bass Head is beautiful also. I love Stonington, ME & Bass Harbor, ME. She was a lucky women. God rest her soul.

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

