Did You Know? (Vermin Love Supreme)

File:Vermin Supreme 2012.jpg

That Vermin Supreme hails from Rockport, MA?  It never ceases to amaze me the interesting people Cape Ann has spawned.

Vermin Love Supreme is an American performance artist, anarchist and activist who is known for his being a satirical candidate in various local, state, and national elections in the United States. Supreme is known for wearing a boot as a hat and carrying a large toothbrush.  He claims that if elected President of the United States, he will pass a law requiring people to brush their teeth. He also campaigned in 2012 on a platform of zombie apocalypse awareness and time travel research, and he promises a pony for every American.  The latter is great as it will dramatically reduce our dependence on foreign oil, fossil fuel emissions, climate change, highway fatalities, and increase organic food production with all that free manure for fertilizer; plus ponies are so cute.   Supreme claims to mock the political system.   In 2011, he participated in the ongoing Occupy Boston protests.

Vermin Supreme is currently campaigning in the 2012 U.S. presidential election. The following are some of the milestones in this campaign:

  • October 29, 2011: He qualified to be listed on the 2012 Democratic Party primary ballot in New Hampshire.
  • October 29, 2011: He participated in a satirical debate against a representative of the campaign of deceased British occultist Aleister Crowley.
  • December 19, 2011: He participated in the Lesser-Known Democratic Candidates Presidential Forum and “glitterbombed” fellow candidate Randall Terry, claiming that Jesus told him to turn Terry gay.
  • January 12, 2012: In the 2012 Democratic Primary in New Hampshire, Supreme received 833 votes (Barack Obama won the primary with 49,080 votes).

E.J. Lefavour

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Did You Know? (Vermin Love Supreme)

  1. John R Reilly says:

    just a couple beers shy of a 6pack !! There ‘s one in every crowd,ain’t there?

  2. judy says:

    PONIES?! Where do I sign up??

  3. Cynthia says:

    Ran into this nut job in New Hampshire…….not only does he speak not a sane word, but stinks so bad, and swears like a fiend!

    I guess it’s really true, anyone can run for President…… yes kids, you can learn to swear AND get a pony!

  4. donna b says:

    No one has mentioned that this “nut job” donated a kidney to his mother several years ago. She is very proud of him and loves him unconditionally. What harm is there in putting a little humor in politics.?

  5. Elaine Marie Lapointe says:

    Man, I have to say this. From what I just read in the comment section I couldn’t believe my eyes. My first reaction to him is he reminded me of Ian Anderson from Jethro Tull. Remember Aqualung & Locamotive Breath??? One of the best groups going when they were popular. And before I read the article about him I though that I will have to mention how this guy reminded me of Ian. Then I read all these so very hateful statements. It made me sad & sick to read those statements. All I can say is maybe to everyone he is a nut ( I have never met him ) but maybe he is also acting like this for his own special reason which nobody knows. Maybe it’s his way of staying sane in this messed up country. But I just couldn’t believe the statements. No matter what you personally think of him you all didn’t have to write such degrading statements. It was said once that I was a little crazy ( I graduated with A’s & B’s ) because I usually write silly comments. Well, all I try to do is hopefully put a smile on someone’s face. Maybe some people think I am crazy but if my comments puts a smile on just one persons face, then let people think I’m crazy. I’d rather try to make people smile then slash them down. Joey, you are so right about the political thing not being mentioned on GMG. I personally never even thought about that. But now I see why you made that statement. Come on people, let’s try to put laughter in each & everyones live. Not hateful statements. Because those hateful statements hurt people. Not just the person being talked about but also people reading the comments. I know it hurt me reading them.

  6. Elaine Marie Lapointe says:

    Might as well make an apology here. Quite a long time ago I made some statements about whales which after reading those statements about Vermin this morning & seeing how they affected me, it just dawned on me how I may of hurt someone with my statement. I’m not making excuses for myself ( I should not have written them ) but when it comes to lobstering & lobstermen having to get new gear, spending all that money, well that hits me in my heart. The statement I made was in defence of the lobsterman. Anything dealing with the lobstering industry that has a negative effect on lobsterman, I will stand up for the lobsterman. I remember as a very little girl seeing my grandpa with his fish. I guess that may be what put the lobstering & fishing industry in my heart. But now today, I see how statements can really affect some people. I promise here, right now, to never write any negative statement from here on. Not about whales, the Coast Guard ( I know they have done much good for Glosta ) but all I could think of was Dead Men Tapping. A phenomenal book although it was very sad at the end. Just well written. I guess sometimes you have to get slaped upside the head to wake up. So to anyone who has anything to do with whales in Glosta, I am sorry. If you think I’m bad with MA lobstermen, you don’t want to see me defend Maine lobstermen..LOL…. I’ve been out hauling with Maine lobsterman. I love Maine. So again sorry everyone that may have taken offense to my statement like I took offense to the hurtful statements about Vermin.

    • Cynthia says:

      Sorry Elaine, upseting you wasn’t my intent….Vermin Supreme (there was no love that day),
      repeatedly used foul language in front of small children. When asked to stop by surrounding adults, the language got worse.
      Frankly, I could care less if someone wants to walk around with a rubber boot on his head, it was a poor learning experience for little kids, who’s wellmeaning parents brought them to see the campaign process first hand….

  7. E.J. says:

    I never thought of this as being politics, as Vermin is obviously not a serious (in any way, made obvious by his platform) political candidate, but a performance artist and political satirist, who is trying to make an arena that is normally kind of mean and mudslinging into something fun and funny. And I do love the idea of everyone having a pony. What makes Cape Ann so special is all the unique characters it creates, and Vermin Love Supreme is one of them.

  8. Elaine Marie Lapointe says:

    Hi Cyntyhia, I am also sorry. I guess it just shocked me. I try not to hurt people unless they step on me then I step back. But as you can read in my other e-mail I have made statements a couple times about whales which shouldn’t have been written. I try to make silly & sometimes stupid comments hoping to make someone smile. And I do have to agree with you on the swearing with the kids around. Sometimes I slip in front of my friends little 4 year old girl & put my hand up to my mouth. But if he was asked to stop swearing in front of the kids & he only made it worse then I have to agree with you. That was just plain wrong of him. Thanks, have a good one.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

