Windy Walk

WINDY WALK

 

There’s something to be said for

venturing out in the cold

and heading into the wind:

 

the bite on the face and tears

dimming sight, the pounding of

the surf echoed by my heart;

 

the dog hunkered down trying

to get under the wind, the

bleakness of the empty beach;

 

short steep waves with their tops blown

off , sand lifting and shifting

like in Lawrence of Arabia,

 

and the marsh grass showing

the scudding clouds the way to

yesterday’s calmer weather.

 

Marty Luster

About Marty Luster

I'm Marty Luster, a retired attorney and politician. In 2010 my wife, mother-in-law, dog and I relocated from Central NY to Gloucester. I hope my photographs and poetry(?) reflect my love for this place and her people. My picture-poem posts can be seen at http://matchedpairs.wordpress.com and selected black and white images can be found at http://slicesoflifeimages.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Windy Walk

  1. Liz says:

    Thanks Marty, you caught the spirit of this Cape Ann day completely!

  2. Laura says:

    Beautifully evocative!

  3. E.J. says:

    I don’t know which I love more Marty, your photography or your poetry.

  4. artmusedog says:

    Awesome photo and great post ~ I too walk my dog ~ nearly everyday (Stage Fort) cept when I was ‘under the weather’ ~ enjoy the week ~ namaste, Carol
    http://www.acreativeharbor.com
    http://www.artmusedogsharethecreativejourney.com

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

