In Seine Field

In memory of Barbara’s mom, Mildred Kirschbaum, October 12, 1912 – January 1  , 2012.

IN SEINE FIELD

 

She’s in Seine Field, east of a nearby gate,

with her arms aiming at the fearsome sky,

as if proclaiming to all the trees, and

all the birds,  all the humans, and all the

creeping beings, all the grasses, all the flowers,

all the elements of earth and sky and

all the spirits of those that came before

and the force of  those who will come after:

I am here and I am perfect!

 

I absorb your bright sun, and rejoice in

your stormy clouds. I shake away your salt

winds that have taken many good men down ,

and I withstand your blasts of cold and your

furious summer fires; my roots are deep

and suck the nourishment of this dear land;

my limbs, long and limber , protect my core;

my elegant needles are dense and lush.

I am here and I am perfect!

 

And even when that day comes when branches

drop and my limbs crack and my trunk decays;

when my glorious needles curl , yellow

and fall, when even light breezes threaten

my ability to stand straight and tall  -

even when that end day comes and I fear

I can’t provide shade to the wanderer

and home to the joyous souls of Seine Field, still

I am here and I am perfect!

 

Marty Luster

About Marty Luster

I'm Marty Luster, a retired attorney and politician. In 2010 my wife, mother-in-law, dog and I relocated from Central NY to Gloucester. I hope my photographs and poetry(?) reflect my love for this place and her people. My picture-poem posts can be seen at http://matchedpairs.wordpress.com and selected black and white images can be found at http://slicesoflifeimages.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In Seine Field

  1. Sorry to hear that she passed away, prayers are being sent

  2. Now the Seine Field will have double meaning for me…thanks for writing it. Thinking of you and your entire family. How blessed I am to have known Mildred, even for a short time.

    – Julie

  3. Joey C says:

    Sorry for your and Barbara’s loss. Thinking of you guys. This poem and photo are beautiful.

  4. Sharon says:

    A beautiful tribute. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  5. E.J. says:

    Such a moving tribute and photo. I am sorry for Barbara’s and your loss.

  6. Fred Bodin says:

    A very touching post, Marty. Our thoughts are with you and Barbara. Fred and Janet.

  7. mammaw says:

    So beautiful and touching. So sorry for your loss. My prayers and thoughts are with you

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

