Mom

Often times there are people in your life that don’t get nearly as much appreciation as they deserve. 

image

I mean first things first, mother’s first off give you everything- LIFE.  They carry you around in their belly, get all stretched out and fat lugging your pre-born self all over the place and I don’t even want to go into the whole birth thing and how messed up it is to see something the size of a smallish watermellon come out a coochie. 

The amount of love and support and work that goes into raising a child is mind boggling but somehow we bounce along as we get older and lose sight of just how much our mothers have done for us.

This year as those of you that are close to me know, we had to put my dad in a nursing home for his alzheimer’s.  Mom tried to keep him home as long as she could but the time came where she just couldn’t provide the 24/7 care he needed.  She took a job at Seacoast Nursing Home to work and be able to still spend lots of time with him and the care the staff provides knowing how much they care for him is the only thing that allows me to sleep at night.

I’m going to be all over the place but please bear with me.

The point I’m trying to make is that through GMG, the opportunities to be able to help other people have been many.  The accolades that we’ve received many as well- CBS Boston’s Most Valuable Blogger, The Community Recognition Award from the Unitarian Church, The Golden Sou’Wester Award from Discover Gloucester, Action Inc’s Community Outreach Award, US Congress Special Recognition award from Congressman Tierney,Special Recognition From the Mass Senate from Bruce Tarr and Ann Margaret. 

Though I do not credit my mother nearly enough for all she has done (does any child?) the fact is that the part of me that created GoodMorningGloucester and the reasons behind it are mostly due to the characteristics in me that I got from my mother.

When I had a school project in middle School she would sit down with me and we would work together and when there was supposed to be one posterboard sized presentation for a school project she would help me along and we would make 10 panels.  Nothing was ever done half way.  Everything over the top. 

The desire to create- from her.  The desire to please others- from her.  The desire to have parties and entertain- from her.  Her neurosis and anxiety, yeah I got that too although thankfully I have the blog to bang away at and throw that nervous energy into something positive.

But the blog is what it is because of many of the traits genetic and learned from one incredible woman.  My mom.

Oh and by the way, Sista Felicia always credits our Grandmother Felicia who undoubtedly was the all time greatest cook but the fact is that our mom was no slouch in the kitchen and she spent way more hours alongside her than our grandmother preparing incredible meals for our dad who worked like an animal alongside his brother Charlie and grandfather Captain Joe.

image

In this most difficult year, the year we had to put dad in the nursing home you’ve handled yourself with such dignity and grace even through what has to be the toughest year of your life. You’re still as beautiful as ever (all my friends used to tell me how beautiful my mom is when we were growing up).  I’m so proud to say that you’re my mom, so thankful for all the support you’ve given me to get me to this point with this medium where I can help others and bring people together just the way you always have done throughout your life.

So mom if you ever get around to reading this because I know you are incredibly computer challenged (one thing I did not get from you) know that even though I don’t express it nearly enough, I want you to know that I know it was you more than anyone who made me who I am today.  I love you and as you already probably know this as every mother knows- I’ll never be able to thank you enough.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

30 comments

  • That is just the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen on the blog. What a good son. I’m sure Pat will see it, and it will make her heart sing.

    Like

  • Joe, You said so much on so many levels. What a beautiful tribute and how great is it that you can say what you said when your Mom is still here to hear it. Just beautiful.
    Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Like

  • Aww! Awesome! Nice! :)

    Like

  • A beautiful tribute to a great mom!

    Like

  • love is a beautiful thing, especially when you’re big enough to share it with the world. you’re the best, kid. see you next year.

    your most infamous fan

    Like

  • A special man with very special women in his life!
    Without a doubt, you and Felica will make this journey you’re all on, easier for your Mom.
    Well done Joey…you made me cry.
    Happy New Year
    xoxoxox

    Like

  • I took care of your Grandmother Felicia at Seacoast years …a wonderful lady

    Like

  • What a beautiful way to close out 2011, Joey! Yeah, it’s all about family, sticking together, and riding out the bumps.
    Happy New Year to you and your family!
    Big hugs for you!
    Sharon

    Like

  • What a beautiful way to express your gratitude for your mom. Love it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  • Beautifully written Joey and the pix of you and your Mom and Dad are awesome as well as the others. (Almost thought it was Mother’s Day!)

    Like

  • A fitting tribute, well said, and well deserved!!!

    Like

  • Just another reason to be proud to call you my friend. Happy New Year Buddy !

    Like

  • What an elegant son….Peace!

    Like

  • Beautiful, that was really beautiful.

    And as I started looking at the pictures of your Mom and wonderful family, I started to think about my Mom and that I really should call her tomorrow to tell her thanks for all she did and does for me, when, sure enough, because this is GMG and you’ve created an amazing community, there is my Mom in the picture with your Mom and Dad (and David who must have been taking a picture of you) in front of Sugar Mags…truly amazing stuff that could not have been mere coincidence. Love GMG!

    Jenn

    Like

  • Joey,

    This is a beautiful tribute to the most important person in your, and in all of our lives,
    Mom Mom Mom, hard to see how it gets any better.
    If only Moms ruled the world, we would all be healthier, in every way.
    Moms RULE!! (see suggestion above)
    See you in the water @ noon!

    Ken

    Like

  • Hi Joey,
    Really nice photo’s. Such a great tribute to your Mom. How proud she must be of you!!
    Great Job!!!!

    Like

  • PatSheedy Conant

    Great piece! I think it may mean even more to those of us whose mothers are no longer with us physically.

    Like

  • Joey: Tears are rolling, what a wonderful way to start 2012, reading a letter to a wonderful mom. She is proud of you and I am proud to call you my friend. Just beautiful

    Like

  • unconditional love grows healthy loving kids

    Like

  • Oh Joey you have written some marvelous posts over the years and included some amazing photos, but this takes the cake on both counts!! What a wonderful SON you are!! As well as hubby and Dad of course . . .
    My siblings and I faced a similar ordeal a year ago with placing our Dad at Seacoast . . . very painful but totally the right choice all around. There are some fabulous folks over there, from front desk to nursing staff to administration, and you are so right–that helped us to be able to sleep again, and breathe, knowing he was safe and in good hands and our job could return to loving him 24/7. Bravo to your mom for taking a job there on top of it all!

    Happy New Year to you and your beautiful family, and thanks so much for what you do here for all of us who love this town and our people (and visitors!)

    Like

  • Sure made me miss my mother even more than usual, moms make us more of who we are than we know. Happy 2012 !

    Like

  • Truly touching and from the heart. I’m going to send a copy to my mom.

    Like

  • Joey, I don’t even know where to begin. Thank you my darling, loving, son. You give me credit for who you have become but for sure you had it in you to do all the wonderful things you do for our family, your friends, and our community. I could not be prouder of you but will continue to be.
    I see how you are with your beautiful wife Jill (who I adore) and how you are with your girls. I know they will grow up and be outstanding (a little bragging) like you turned out to be. I love you very much and thank you especially for helping me through a most difficult year. You and Felicia,
    Barry, Jill, and BJ, Amanda, Eloise, and Madeline have definitely helped me. I AM SO PROUD OF ALL OF YOU. Glad I’m still alive to hear how you feel. Happy New Year Love, Mamma
    ps I’m trying with the computer LOL

    Like

  • Well Joey, i have never met you or any of your family, but through your blog I have got to see the kind of man you are and how much your family means to you. What you wrote was truly beautiful, and I’m sure your Mom deserves every word. My parents died some years ago, but there isn’t a day goes by that I don’t think about them, and like you, I am so thankful for what they gave me.
    My Mom, or ‘Mum’ as we say in the UK, had Alzheimers, and so did my Auntie and my Grandma so I know something of that, and how difficult it can be for the rest of the family.
    I wish you and all your family peace and happiness this year.

    Like

  • Obviously that was heart-felt, Joey. You had my eyes watering and my nose burning. What a wonderful tribute to your mom, and how fortunate for her that she could bear witness to it.

    Like

  • What a lovely post, Joey—your Mom is someone special, as are most Mom’s and they don’t often get the appreciation they deserve. You have taken care of that. Well Done and Happy New Year!

    Like

  • What a touching and most tasteful tribute.
    Your mom really is beautiful.

    Like

  • This one really hit me……Going thru what you went thru with your Dad right now! Read your tribute to your Mom…very special! I keep wiping my tears…..wondering when we’ll get to that step. Tough times, but it helps when I read or talk to someone who has gone or going thru it.
    Love reading GMG everyday. CONGRATULATIONS to all who have made this successful.
    HAPPY “2012” TO ALL!

    Like

  • Joey you are such a wonderful son and everything you said is soooo true! She is one amazing woman! We are really going to miss seeing them down here in Naples and you Jill and the girls !

    Like

  • Joey, We can truly say that you have the greatest Mom there is. We became acquainted with your Mom and Dad in Florida and she truly is an amazing person. Dale, my husband loved your father. I am sure this has been very difficult for all of you but I know it was very difficult on your Mom..she misses your father so much. You truly have an amazing Mom and we have an amazing friend. God Bless all of you.
    Dale and Helen

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

