Eastern Point Lighthouse on Boxing Day From Elinor Teele

 

Squam Creative Services
Freelance Copywriting, Fiction and Photography

The Doll’s Head: A Mystery for Girls
Discover the story and read a free sample

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in GMG Flickr Group and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eastern Point Lighthouse on Boxing Day From Elinor Teele

  1. Klaus says:

    I’m struggling to come up with a comment thats complimentary, yet, requires some editing.

    thee pictures, the first two vaiations of each other. Make a decision and pick one.
    The third, eh…

    Its all about editing, just because a flick of th finger can take a shot deosnt mean ever shot needs to be published.

    • Anonymous says:

      wow…rude comments about beautiful pictures…seriously!! all 3 are very nice!!

      • Joey C says:

        I agree. Of all the things to take time out of ones day to comment on a person feels the need to personally insult someones creativity. I’d say there’s better causes to rail against. Like lousy restaurant attitudes, lol.

  2. Hey Klaus and Elinor- I consider myself a good picture editor. That’s because I’ve been editing submissions of my photos for magazines, textbooks, newspapers, and ad agencies for thirty years. Sometimes there’s a reason to show similar views – sometimes not. In this case, not. The use of very similar images of the lighthouse dilutes the strength of the first one, which is really great. A rule of thumb that I go by for shooting a picture story or essay is this: To cover a subject, always shoot an overall, a medium shot, and a closeup. I don’t think there’s a guidebook for Blog photo coverage, but a book I’ve got in my library is “Words and Pictures.” Way out of print, but I’m sure Bob Ritchie at Dogtown Bookstore can get you one. Keep shooting Elinor!

  3. I think each of these shots has its merits. It’s not like this is a competition where you have a strictly limited number of entries.

  4. Anne Lubbers says:

    I’m not analyzing them as a photography critic. I’m just enjoying them. They’re all lovely!

    • Klaus R says:

      The Photography is one of the things that keeps me coming back to this blog. I was in a mood when looking at the pictures. Like the mood the other day, when viewing a slideshow of mine on the tv to guests. So many pictures..not enough editing.. OOps! Mybad. I’ve read of that principle of the overall, medium and closeup too, as well as the New York Institute’s:
      Step 1. Know your subject.
      Step 2. Focus attention on your subject.
      Step 3. Simplify.
      Now to the restaurants. Same principles, no?

  5. Jeanne Smith says:

    So many talented photographers on this site – I enjoy them all. Keep up the good work. Just wish I shared your talent!

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

