Monthly Archives: December 2011

Attention Cape Ann Restaurants-Send Us Your New Years Eve Promotions

I’ll be happy to post them for you here so people can come to your joint if you have anything special going on.  Feel free to send in a copy of your menu or price fixe menu, whatever.

Our readership has been emailing like crazy asking what there is to do.

Rockport will be having a grand celebration, you can read about that here

image

 

From the Rockport NYE website-

Welcome to NEW YEAR’S ROCKPORT EVE: the web site that is dedicated to celebration. We celebrate the future, the joy of sharing a special evening with family, friends and neighbors and our hope that a New Year will bring good health, happiness and new opportunities.

We will entertain you with clowns, cowboys, magicians, musicians – classical, pop, jazz, Dixieland, folk, country, gospel swing and rock and roll – ventriloquists, dance, drama, puppets, and MUCH, MUCH MORE! And, we have planned a spectacular midnight event that will be a truly memorable welcome to the beginning of a new millennium.

Our buttons ($15 adults, $6 children 12 & under, 3 & under, free–no button needed) are now available.

A Note To Restaurant Owners

Here’s the thing.  There has been a long time Gloucester bar/restaurant that I’d long ago given up on.  Not because the food was terrible.  Not because the ambiance was nasty.  Not because the prices were high.  Quite the contrary actually.  They served some of the best chowder in town.  The prices were reasonable and it’s one of the greatest rooms in town.

The reason I stopped going there over ten years ago and hadn’t gone back was because every single time I went in there I didn’t feel welcome at the bar.

I consider myself a “bar” person.  When I say this I don’t mean barfly type of person.  What I mean is that if the Mrs and I are out for dinner at a place that has a bar and table seating we will 90% of the time sit at the bar because we enjoy the social aspects of interacting with the bartenders, servers and other patrons.  It’s not that we are there to get hammered and as I get older I find myself drinking booze less and less.  It truly is all about the social aspects of it.

This particular place which will go unnamed was open last night and as the Mrs told me as I was leaving work that she wouldn’t have any dinner for me, she asked that I pick something up.  So I ordered take out and told Ed to meet me for a beer while I waited for my take out to be ready for pick up.

Well we went to this joint that I had long ago sworn off and wouldn’t you know that same vibe that existed ten and twenty years ago still was right there same as it ever was.   Not very busy and it took about five minutes to get a beer, whatever no big deal but asking what I’d like to drink was about the extent of the interaction I had with the entire staff despite sitting right at the end of the bar where the waitresses were passing by to pick up drinks one after another.

Let me just explain it for the owners of these places.  I may be the exception and not the rule but I can deal with so –so food.  I can deal with slightly above average prices IF you just go a little teeny tiny out of your way and make me feel welcome.

I’m not asking for a hand crank.  I’m not asking for a blowjob.  Just make me feel the slightest bit like you appreciate my business or want me there.  Because you know what?

THERE ARE WAY TOO MANY GREAT FUCKING RESTAURANTS IN THIS TOWN THAT DO JUST THAT. 

It’s part of the hospitality game.  I don’t care if you’ve been tending bar for 30 years and am burn out.  Act like a professional or get another job.  Or if you are the owner of this type of place and notice your staff isn’t interested in making your guests feel welcome, you might want to do a little motivational speaking and if that doesn’t work replace them.

This place should be doing at least double the business they are doing.

It  had been ten years since I’d stepped foot in there and it will be a whole lot longer til I go back.  I can assure you.

Thank you.

Do You Know? (Piscitello Square)

Who knows where Piscitello Square is located?  This memorial square is in honor of Sgt. Salvatore J. Piscitello who was killed in action while a member of D Co, 4th Bn, 9th Infantry, in South Vietnam on November 27, 1968.  He is remembered on the Vietnam Wall at Panel 38W Line 079.

There is also a SALVATORE J. PISCITELLO MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP given each year by the Friends of Sgt. Salvatore J. Piscitello in the amount of $200.00 to a Gloucester High School student exhibiting leadership, scholarship and character, with preference given to a student entering the technical field.

E.J. Lefavour

gimmesound New Year’s Rockport Eve Question 2

122711

Watch the video and get question 2 in our New Year’s Rockport Eve Family Giveaway sponsored by the New Year’s Rockport Eve organizers

Here’s how the contest works:

Every day we’ll have a trivia question (Monday – Friday)

Be the first person to submit all five correct answers on Friday (look for the ANSWER link right under Friday’s video) and win 2 adult and 2 child buttons to New Year’s Rockport Eve.

The Boys are back at Jalapenos.  See the full lineup for tonight here.

Wednesdays at the Rhumb Line

 
 
Prime Rib Specials!
Wednesdays Only!
Hello everyone!
Wednesday, December 28th
Special Guest:
 RIC ST. GERMAIN!
  Here’s hoping everyone’s Christmas was peaceful and full of joy.  Best wishes for the New Year.  This week we have Ric St. Germain.  He gets better each time he appears.  Please come and keep the holiday cheer going! ~ Fly
Dinner with Fly Amero: 8 – 11pm
*Each week features a special, invited musical guest
Dave Trooper’s Kitchen…
Prime Rib Dinner -  $9.95 (while they last)
Prepared fresh weekly by “Troop”… always good!
 Upcoming: Jan. 4:
 BILL GLEASON
 
Jan. 11: SASQUATCH
 
Sincerely… I hope to you there!  :-) ~ Fly

What is Art? or what makes you or me an Artist?

From: http://www.goines.net/Writing/what_is_artist.html

What is Art?

Is it a dumb Ocean Rock with Sharpie Drawing on it? or………….

“Obviously, an artist is someone who creates art, just a baker is someone who makes bread, and a plumber is someone who installs and repairs plumbing. These are simply trades and professions; that is, means by which different people make their livings.

Unlike plumbing or baking however, the difficulty lies in defining “art.” Art is pretty much whatever anybody says it is, and an artist is similarly anybody who says he is one. This leaves any definition of “artist” and “art” so vague as to be meaningless. Does the act of creation, be it ever so humble or idiosyncratic, suffice to allow one to lift the laurel of “artist” to his brow? Anybody can call himself anything, but the test is whether or not you actually are qualified. A plumber would not dare to call himself a plumber unless he were qualified in the opinion of others to do plumbing, and had experience and credentials to prove it, and actually got paid good money for his work. The same is true of an automobile mechanic, elementary school teacher or newspaper reporter. You can’t just call yourself a college professor or medical doctor and expect anyone to take you seriously. You need to have something to back it up. The term “artist,” unlike “electrician,” or “dog trainer,” neither conveys qualification, nor is it specific enough to shed much light on what a person may actually do.

There are classes of activities that often fall under the term “art,” such as the lively arts, the performing arts, and the like; thus a dancer could reasonably be called an artist within the context of dance. But if you were to ask a dancer what she does, and she were to reply, “I am an artist,” you would not be much the wiser concerning her activities. It would be far more illuminating for her to say, “I am a classical ballerina,” or “I am a choreographer.”

A person may be exceptionally good at something, so much so that he may be called “a culinary artist,” or “a musical artist,” or “a con artist.” This implies that he transcends the ordinary, and does something creative in his trade, so much so that by the standards of cooks, or con men, he is an “artist.” But it would be misleading for that person to say, “I am an artist,” when asked what he does for a living. Far better to say “I am a cook,” and …….

leave it to others to call you an artist.”

click below for more

http://www.goines.net/Writing/what_is_artist.html

On the third day of Christmas, I saw THREE ships…

…come sailing in, on my Christmas tree!

Remember, it’s still Christmas until January 6th (you know, the 12 Days of Christmas…). I didn’t get three French hens, but at the suggestion of several people after my earlier post, I added a third ship to my tree.  (On the left is an origami snowflake folded from a hexagon.)

Christmas Traditions From Tyler Knight

On my walk thru Seine Field this morning I stumbled across someone’s
electric candle lit path from the night before. The dogs and I
followed it, and found that it led just off the trail to a small
opening. Someone had planted a Christmas Tree and adorned it with
battery powered lights. Next to it lay an engraved stone marking the
person’s tree and the date. There were rose petals and the remains of
a little ambience which got me thinking about the ceremony which must
have accompanied this scene. As a former arborist of 12 years, I
completely encourage this kind of Christmas Tree Tradition. Anyway,…
A Christmas Blessing: May Steph’s Tree Grow Tall and Strong and Greet
Many Sun Rises on the Back Shore.
Tyler Knight
Cape Ann SUP

IMG_1028IMG_1031IMG_1032IMG_1045

Mamie’s Kitchen Linguica and Onion Omelet. Bring Your Appetite!

Mamie’s Kitchen is located across from St Ann’s Church.  Alicia, the owner told me to let people know if they want a buttload of the world’s greatest coffee rolls, to call ahead and she can prepare them and have ‘em all ready for your office. 

When we posted that picture of the world’s greatest coffee roll last week she got swamped!

DSC01046

The World’s Greatest Coffee Roll (not even debatable)-

image