Monthly Archives: December 2011

The Joy Within

THE JOY WITHIN

 

It’s hard for a foul mood to light around here,

no matter the cause:  a personal slight,

feeling poorly, some minor frustration or

irritation that binds my mind from time to time.

 

How can the joy within not be brought to a brilliant

glow when I start the day by walking the dog

to the cadence of the gong  in Ipswich Bay

or the  sound of the horn at the  Annisquam Light;

 

when, in summer, at night, I drift off to the

music of the sibilent surf, like a great

white- sound machine that calms my busy

monkey brain when it swings from one thought to

another, from one worry to another.

 

It’s hard to be morose when a walk on the

beach brings me the ocean’s incense, the

busy shore birds, the breezes  tinged with salt;

when the sun setting on a dune and a tree shaped

by the sea wind has me on my knees in awe.

 

Marty Luster

Merry Christmas!

The parish choir (directed by Tom Misuraca) sang before Mass yesterday night, offering a sort of recap of the Christmas concert held earlier in the month.  Here are some highlights.

Unfortunately, in one or two places there is a little bit of feedback in the microphones which mixes with the higher frequencies in the music and makes it sound a little off-pitch, but the choir sounded great.