What’s a Gloucester Christmas tree without a ship or two?

Some nautical decorations are necessary on a Christmas tree in a city like Gloucester, so I made these for my tree (which only has origami decorations).

Models designed by Martin Wall (rear ship) and Patricia Crawford (front ship),  and folded by me, each from one uncut sheet of 5″ square tissue foil.

Any other Cape Ann origami folders out there? Comment on this post if you’d like to get together to fold from time to time! Maybe we could start a Cape Ann origami group.  I’m willing to teach.

About Matthew Green

I am an origami artist and photographer (and teacher of both), a blogger, a freelance translator, former philosophy professor, and I love to sing. You can see my photos on Flickr and buy prints of some of them on Fine Art America. You can find me on Instagram, Twitter (@mehjg), and in various and sundry other social media sites on the web.
This entry was posted in gloucester, model ship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s a Gloucester Christmas tree without a ship or two?

  1. Beautiful! great job.
    Should be three ships i think.

    • Thanks! Funny, my parents pointed out the same thing: everybody sees THREE “ships come sailing in on Christmas day in the morning”… I guess I have to make another!

      • “I saw three ships come sailing in” was always and is my favorite song of the season. Please make and share another if you have the time. Don’t feel obligated. thanks, Paul

        • Actually, I was looking for another design to make a third even before anyone commented on it, although I hadn’t made the association with the carol. The two I made are folded from roughly the same base, but I’d like to find one that’s a little different. Maybe I’ll have to try to invent one…

  2. Vicki says:

    Yes, I’d love to learn this! Are these for sail (sale?) I’d buy one!

    • Sure, I’d be happy to sail – sorry, sell – you one. You might want to see it first in person. They are very delicate and bendable. I’m working on getting a system to stiffen the paper with an acrylic spray to help keep them from getting bent out of shape.

  3. Pingback: On the third day of Christmas, I saw THREE ships… | GoodMorningGloucester

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

