Chickity Check It- Gloucester Quilter Blog and Webcam!

FOB Dot has recently started a blog about her quilting-

http://gloucesterquilter.wordpress.com/

image

Dot writes-

I started quilting about 20 years ago in the middle of a life style change. I borrowed my elder daughters Featherweight machine, got a pattern book, some fabric and set out to make my first quilt. I still have that quilt today to remind me of how far I and the industry have come.

20 years later quilting is my passion. I make quilts for beds. You can throw them in the washing machine and put them in the dryer (on low heat) and then after 20 years buy another one. They are like a good pair of old shoes that last until you need a new pair.

I favor the Log Cabin design in my quilts as the geometric pattern creates an eye appealing textural effect for me. I choose over 40 different fabrics in varying shades to accomplish this. I use Warm and Natural batting and always good quality cotton fabrics as I am lucky to have a wide variety of fabric shops in the area and never need to shop the discount stores.

I am not a smoker but I am a dog lover with 2 Labradors to keep me busy when not at the sewing machine. (I now have a Bernina) I will be breeding my year old pup Stella in a few years and all the puppies get a quilt when they leave for new homes.
I enjoy working with my hands even though they are becoming a bit arthritic. Sewing helps to keep them less hurting.

That’s all for now……enjoy my quilts

Dot Batchelder
Gloucester, MA

In conjunction with Dot’s quilting blog she had Tim from www.gloucesterbytes.com install a webcam and has an awesome view of Gloucester Harbor from up on high-

image

image

One comment

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

