Adventure, Roseway and Highland Sea Photos From Bob Cullen

Joey,

Yesterday I was at the Gloucester Marine Railway with my niece and her husband so they could re-visit the Adventure, where they had gotten married 25 years ago by Capt. Jim Sharp in Camden. Joanne Souza, Director of Adventure.org was nice enough to give us a personal tour. We were pleased that the Roseway was also there, because the Roseway was a 2nd boat used for their wedding guests. We were lucky in that the Roseway was just leaving the dock and motoring out the harbor. I got some shots of that. Also, I met a Capt. Tom (I didn’t catch his last name, but he said he had once captained the Highland Sea (aka the Pilot.)) He said I had to take a once-in-a-lifetime photo of 3 ships built by the same shipyard (Tarr and James) in about the same year (1926), all in one frame. So, I did catch a photo of the Roseway as she went past the Highland Sea and the Adventure.

I also took a few photos of a carriage and some screws at the GMR. You probably have enough of those, but, in case you don’t. I just uploaded the 15 photos to my Flickr account – Bob C8. It’s a new set titled “Adventure Anniversary”. They’re set to public viewing. Feel free to post on GMG. In the set they’re in the right order.

It was sprinkling for a time yesterday when I took the photos, so I caught the authenticity of raindrops on my lens cover (or, I forgot to wipe the lens.)

Thanks, Bob Cullen (aka Jenn’s father)

click the picture below to see the slideshow from Bob Cullen

Below deck of The Schooner Adventure

image

About Joey C

The creator of goodmorninggloucester.org Lover of all things Gloucester and Cape Ann. GMG where we bring you the very best our town has to offer because we love to share all the great news and believe that by promoting others in our community everyone wins.
This entry was posted in Schooner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

