Schooner Highlander Sea at Marine Railways

The 1924 Essex built schooner, Highlander Sea, Ex PILOT, docked at the Marine Railways this afternoon, and plans to stay the winter.  She is tied up alongside our Schooner Adventure.  If you have a chance, stop by and see them both today.  Then stop by Madfish Wharf and check out the major end of season sales in the galleries, and major household furnishings and stuff sale under the tent at Madfish Grille.

HIGHLANDER SEA is a beautiful 154-foot luxury sailing yacht, built in Essex in 1924 by John F James.  She has also been called Pilot, Star Pilot and Caledonia.  She is a classic twin masted schooner who can accommodate a total of 10 people on board, and has a crew of approximately 6.

E.J. Lefavour

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Schooner Highlander Sea at Marine Railways

  1. Robin Leach says:

    Hello E.J. Did you know?? The Highlander Sea Is one of the tall ships that my son and daughter-in-law got married.. 7-12- 2003. I have a pic of them on your ship that I can send you as proof. Are you one of the tall ships coming to Cleveland? How cool to have a 10th anniversary???? Thank you E.J.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

