Monthly Archives: September 2011

video- watercolors by MARILYN SWIFT at North Shore Arts Association

Check out Marilyn’s Website here-

NEW ENGLAND PAINTINGS:
watercolors by MARILYN SWIFT and oils by BRUCE TURNER

Meet the artists at the Opening Reception
Saturday, September 24th from 2-4pm
North Shore Arts Association
11 Pirates Lane
Gloucester, MA 01930

Water and oil mix well in this exhibition at the North Shore Arts Association, September 19 through October 2nd. Marilyn Swift will join up with former Rockport gallery partner Bruce Turner for a show in the Gordon Grant Room. Marilyn will exhibit recent plein air watercolors of coastal New England and Bruce will show new oils. More information available at NSAA 978-283-1857 or www.nsarts.org.

Evening in Gloucester Harbor From Father Matthew Green

Look at these gorgeous photos and tell me you don’t thank god every day you get to be here.

Father Green writes-

Good evening, Joey!

One of the things I really like about being in Gloucester is the fact that there are lots of talented people who like to get together to share their gifts just for the fun of it. On the Saturday of Labor Day weekend, I joined the group that met on the Adventure to sing sea chanteys and watch the parade of lighted boats. I didn’t get great photos of the boats, but I got some nice sunset / moon photos.  So, these photos are a couple of weeks old, but I just got to process them now, and I thought I’d share them with you in case you thought them worth sharing with the GMG readers.

The sunset reflected in the water:

Ship masts silhouetted against the evening sky:

A seagull glides off into the sunset:

The moon over the shipyard:

People having fun sharing their musical talents:

Thanks for keeping us informed about events Gloucester!

Fr. Matthew

Doggy Beach Days

I am sure all the pups out there are excited to get back on the beaches and play in the waves. Here’s a video from Saturday of my Coconut, catching drift wood, in the tide pools of Wingaersheek.

 

Unfortunately, she got a big boo boo on her foot yesterday and will not be able to run free on the beaches for at least 2 weeks. The great team at Cape Ann Veterinary Hospital took good care of her, so I am sure she will heal real fast and be back to her old self soon enough.

-Alicia

AUTUMNAL EQUINOX ON FRIDAY!

Greetings! Fall begins here in the Northern Hemisphere on September 23, 2011, at 5:05 A.M. (EDT). The word ‘equinox’ comes from the Latin words for "equal night" — the time of year when the hours of day and night are approximately equal. Wishing you all the very best during this crisp and colorful season!
Tom Philbrook
www.thomasphilbrook.com

image

Attention Alert Cape Ann Citizens! Stolen Bike!!!!

Jim Dowd writes-

Attention Alert Citizens!
Upon my return to our beloved island from my work deep down in the cubicle mines of Boston, I discovered my faithful mountain bike "Madeline" missing from the T station in downtown Gloucester. She was locked with a Kryptonite cable through the frame and front tire. As I am the only one with a key and she does not tend to wander off by herself, it is obvious that she has been stolen.
The picture enclosed is her when she was much younger. Today she sports handlebar extensions, black cabling, some stickers (Continental and Powerbar) wire water bottle holders and at the time she was wearing a removeable rear fender, which could easily have been discarded. Her toe-basket clip-straps are red.
I know not what hard use her new master put her to, he who undoubtedly tried to trade her for a few pills of oxycontin only to discover her 1988 vintage not making her worth much more than a TylenolPM, but in my care she was the sole means of solo transportation from my home to the station, hard economic times having reduced our family to a single auto. She was cared for and loved, had a dry place to sleep and plenty of green grease.
Won’t you be on the lookout for her? The dastardly deed has been reported to the GPD and no doubt they are working extra shifts to assure her safe recovery, but nothing supports our finest like watchful eyes. Her stickers and aftermarket handle extensions make her easy to spot. If you do see her you may take one of three actions, depending on your comfortability with confrontation:
A. Stop the rider, tell him/her the bike is stolen and summon the police.
B. Summon the police without alerting the rider, perhaps follow him/her to their destination.
C. Bring me their warm, still pulsating heart in an ornately carved, locked wooden box. (Police involvement not necessary)
Madeline and I thank you enormously. I know she is out there, close by. I can feel her.
Jim.

IMG_1198rs

Did You Know? (Ziggy’s Dad Died)

That Tom Wilson, Sr., writer/creator of the Ziggy cartoon died of pneumonia at a hospital in Cincinnati on Friday.  He was 80.

Wilson got his start as an artist at American Greetings card company in Cleveland, working there for more than 35 years before debuting the character of Ziggy in a 1969 cartoon collection titled “When You’re Not Around.” In 1971, the Ziggy comic strip was launched in 15 newspapers.

Today, Ziggy appears in more than 500 daily and Sunday papers, with the character also featured in books, calendars and greeting cards – not to mention the rubber version one belonging to Violet Gray pictured here in our window box on Rocky Neck.

Wilson’s son, Tom Wilson Jr., took over the strip in 1987, so Ziggy will go on in spite of his creator’s passing.

E.J. Lefavour

Kiddo – Pet of the Week

Kiddo – Pet of the Week

Kiddo

Good day!  My name is Kiddo and I am a two-year-old girl cat residing at the Cape Ann Animal Aid in Gloucester ( www.CapeAnnAnimalAid.com ).   My area here is very nice, but I hear word of a new shelter opening this year; how exciting! I am a sweet and easy going girl who enjoys a quiet environment. I am a little shy, but love attention.  I am not chunky; just big boned; what you call pleasantly plump.

I am hoping that you might stop by 260 Main Street in Gloucester and visit me!  The big dog near to me just said I look more like a rabbit than a cat!  I just gave him one of my looks as I think he is jealous of my beautiful black-and-white coat!  Dogs! Just no manners!!

Wednesday, 9/21 ONE NIGHT ONLY! FiLmprov comes to The Annie! $10

FiLmprov!

Wednesday, September 21

7:30pm

$10

RESERVATION HOTLINE: 978-704-1269

FILM + improvisation = FiLmprov!

Add live musical improvisation by world class jazz musicians to the animated film work of Kate Matson and enter the wonderful world of FiLmprov!

Choreographed found objects will dance, swim, ebb, and flow with the sound waves of the salty, sensitive, jazzy FiLmprov ensemble at the Cape Ann (The Annie) Wednesday, September 21st!

http://filmprov.tripod.com

FiLmprov at The Annie!

Lori Diamond and Fred Abatelli At The Seaward Inn for the Season’s Finale

The SEAWARD INN, Rockport, is delighted to bring back Sunday Morning Live’s Lori Diamond and Fred Abatelli for our Season Finale, September 25th., 9:00 am to Noon during a Breakfast Buffet by the Sea. This phenomenal duo has opened and closed this popular music series for the third year in a row. Well known on New England’s music scene, Lori and Fred will be releasing yet another CD , “TRUE” in October. Visit blog.seawardinn.com or call 978-546-3471.

Henri Smith Joins Fly Amero This Wednesday Night



Prime
Rib Specials!
Wednesdays Only!
Hello everyone!

Wednesday, September 21st
Special
Guest:
HENRI SMITH!

This week, the wildly
popular Henri Smith will bring his oh-so
smooooth and sassy N’orleans vibe to
the Wednesday Rhumb
Line stage.  I’ve never before had the pleasure of
working
with this wonderfully talented individual, so this marks
another
“first” you should surely NOT want to miss!
Dinner with Fly Amero:
8 – 11pm
*Each week features a special, invited musical
guest
Dave Trooper’s Kitchen…
Prime Rib Dinner
-

$9.95 (while they last)
Prepared fresh weekly by “Troop”…
always good!
Upcoming:
Sept. 28: RIC ST.
GERMAIN

Oct. 5: KATRIN

Oct. 12: INGE
BERGE

Oct. 19: ROCKY &
KERI

Sincerely…
I hope to see you there!  :-) ~ Fly

Savour Wine and Cheese // Thank You For Your Support!

Kathleen Powers Erickson and Robert A. Morgan write-

Hello everyone,

Many of you now know of the fire at Savour last Thursday night.  The cause was a misplaced lit cigarette in an upstairs apartment.  Both Beach Gourmet and Savour Wine and Cheese lost everything.  Because the adjacent building went up in flames, 5 families are now homeless.  So, this has been quite traumatic for many of us.  However, no one was injured.  We are doing well and WE WILL REBUILD as soon as possible (not in this location)!

full night fire

Just to let you know, Matt, John, Bob Morgan, my partner, and I are discussing a full business partnership, in which the concept of Savour might be expanded to include catering, cooking demonstrations and classes, as well as prepared foods.  We have also looked at several properties and expect to sign a deal for a new location in Gloucester some time this week.  Of course, we cannot get going again until we settle with the insurance company, so that may take some time.  BUT – it is our hope to reopen before Thanksgiving, so say a prayer for that, please.

Many of you have asked how you can help.  First, as I have no income, I am still going ahead with the wine classes.  The 5-part series will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 27, at Alchemy (3 Duncan St.) at 7:30 pm.  I still have a few places available and would like a full class.  (In fact, if we have more than 12 signed up, I will hold another session on a different day, Monday or Thursday evenings).  Call my cell at 312 286-1924 to sign up, or just send an email – kathleenperickson@gmail.com  Being able to teach, to go on, and to earn a little income would be a tremendous help right now.  If you would like a flyer on the class, which you can pass along, just email me, and I will send it.

Also – as I mentioned, we are looking for new space, so contact me if you see something that might work for our new location.

Finally, some of Matt and John’s personal chef clients have contacted them to suggest a fundraiser, so as I learn more details, I will let you know.  Matt will cook, and I can provide wine and give a presentation.  I will write again soon, and will keep everyone posted.  We don’t want you to forget about us!

So, thank you once again for all your wonderful support.  We will rise again out of the rubble to be bigger, better, and stronger!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Powers Erickson and Robert A. Morgan

rubble

The Paint Factory How it looked in 2007

 

The Paint Factory from 2007