Where’s the moon going to rise? From John Wheeler

John writes-

Joey,

It was nice to meet you tonight. Here is the web site I was telling you about.

Has you can see in the attached picture, I knew when, and where to be to get the moon between the towers. Knowing the time of the moon-rise ,and sun-set helps with the exposure of the Twin Lights. I’m still working on my settings, so I don’t over expose the moon, or under expose the rest of the shot.

I hope the other photographers find this has cool to use has I do.

The other picture is something I found on my way across the rocks, off Penzance Rd. in Rockport. I was told it is where the earth split millions of years ago, and filled in with molten lava.

http://photoephemeris.com/

IMG_5643IMG_5655-1

3 comments

  • I’ve been looking for an easy program to find out where the moon is going to rise for ages. This Ephemeris TPE is perfect. Motif #1 with the moon rising behind it here I come.

    Fun Fact on that crack in the rock: Yes, molten lava filled the crack. That occurred around 150 million years ago when that granite was east of here and miles under the ground and ocean. The lava has a name, gabbro, or basalt but I think gabbro is a catchier name.

    Like

  • That black rock is Basalt and can be seen in a number of areas around Cape Ann in various widths and depths. I believe the widest formed Rafe’s Chasm is in Magnolia. The Basalt is much softer than Granite which forms the bulk of the Cape Ann’s rock

    Like

  • Nice shots, John! Your group photo of us at the picnic Mass was great too. And thanks for the tip for the moonrise information!
    I also have been fascinated by those rock formations. I think my most interesting photo of one of them in Rockport is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mehjg/4347750712

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

