The Homecoming

 The Homecoming, circa 1950 Anonymous/©Fredrik D. Bodin
It’s rare that a photograph can make me well up a bit every time I look at it. This one does. Although we can’t see see the soldier’s face, we know where he’s been: to war. Now he’s returned after a long hot trip, being welcomed by his family in an airport or train station. The three women, probably his wife, mother, and daughter, are all crying with happiness to have him home. It’s hard to not do the same.
About two years ago a woman came into my gallery with a few photographs she wanted to sell. I was struck when I saw this one, and bought it. It’s an 8×10 black and white glossy, with no information on the front or back. An unknown press photographer probably took the picture, and I don’t know if it was ever published. I wonder if he or she realized the emotional weight of this image. An unexpected gift for us on Memorial Day.

Scanned from the original 8×10 inch print. Negative #AD110530-001
Fred Bodin
Bodin Historic Photo
82 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930

About Sharon

My passions include photography, music, people, teaching, learning, taking risks and asking "I wonder what would happen if I..."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Homecoming

  1. E.J. says:

    That is an amazing photo Fred – great find, and perfect for sharing today.

  2. Fred Bodin says:

    Thanks, E.J. The Homecoming photo has all the elements (composition, tension, human interest, etc.) that make a great shot. It’s like it came out of a book of LIFE’s best photos of the 1950′s. I have the glossy in the gallery if anyone wants to see it.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

