Memorial Day, Gloucester, 1904

This flag raising ceremony was held at 6:30AM near Addison Gilbert Hospital. In attendance were Gloucester’s Civil War veterans of Company G, Eighth Infantry. Company G, of the Massachusetts Volunteer Militia, was organized in 1788, and was called the “Gloucester Artillery.” After being reorganized in 1852, it was named the “American Guard.” They fought in President Lincoln’s Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) from 1861 to 1865.
Photographer Alice Curtis mentions “Uncle John” was the guest of honor at the Memorial Day flag raisings she photographed in 1904, 1913, and 1915. He is the bearded gentleman on the left. I believe Uncle John was Captain John Lowe.
Alice M. Curtis/©Fredrik D. Bodin
Thank you to all of our veterans for your service.
Printed from the original 5×7 inch glass negative in my darkroom. Negative # A8357-058
Fred Bodin
Bodin Historic Photo
82 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930

About Sharon

My passions include photography, music, people, teaching, learning, taking risks and asking "I wonder what would happen if I..."
This entry was posted in Art, gloucester and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memorial Day, Gloucester, 1904

  1. Sharon says:

    Hey Fred,
    Do you have any more info on John Lowe? I was looking through my family history and there are several John Low(e)s. For some relatives, the name Low changed to Lowe in 1863. There was also a Captain John Lowe who lived in Ipswich (probably not a relative,though.) Thanks in advance, Fred!

    • Fred Bodin says:

      Hi Sharon, I’ll backtrack on my research and send you some links. I have an early portrait of Captain Lowe in my collection as a younger man, and matched it with the 1904 Memorial Day shot on the blog.

  2. shew says:

    really enjoying all the old maps and photos on the blog. thanks for sharing

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Fred,
    I’m researching the Lowe side of my family, most of whom lived in Massachusetts and/or Michigan. I also would be interested in your links to the Low/Lowe family. I’ve found a gr gr grandfather, Calvin Messenger Lowe, and am trying to find distant cousins with whom I can correspond, since I live on the west coast.

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

