Did You Know? (Gloucester Fisherman’s Memorial)

Gloucester Fishserman's Memorial, also know as the Man at the Wheel

Photo Composite by E.J. Lefavour

That the Gloucester Fisherman’s Memorial (also known as the Man at the Wheel statue) is a tribute to the more than 10,000 Gloucester fishermen who have lost their lives at sea over the centuries and a reminder that fishing is our country’s most dangerous occupation? The statue is the work of sculptor Leonard Craske (1877-1951) and is based on a 1901 painting by Gloucester artist A.W. Buhler.  It is an 8-foot-tall bronze statue positioned so that the fisherman is looking out over Gloucester Harbor. The fisherman in the sculpture was modeled after Capt. Clayton Morrissey, a prominent Gloucester fisherman, once the captain of the Effie M. Morrissey.  A small plaque on the north or street-facing side of the base reads, “Memorial To The Gloucester Fisherman, August 23, 1923.” A larger recessed panel on the harbor-facing side of the base holds an inscription of bronze letters taken from the Bible’s Psalm 107:23, which reads: “They That Go Down To The Sea In Ships 1623-1923.”

I know that everyone in Gloucester knows this, but there may be some GMG readers out there that don’t.

E.J. Lefavour

http://www.khanstudiointernational.com/did%20you%20know%20book.htm

3 comments

  • Frances Ederer Rardin

    I was born in Gloucester on June 5, 1932 and baptized at St. Anns Parish. My mother, Mary F. Perry, grew up in Gloucester. We left Gloucester when I was a baby and most of my life I’ve lived in Washington State. I’ve visited Gloucester but the last time was in fall of 1974. AT that time my grandfather, Perce Perry was still alive as was my aunt and uncle Alice and Charles Martell. My cousin Robert Martell has received the medal twice for trying to save the lives of two fishermen who fell into winter seas. I am working on my family tree at this time. I feel very sad that I wasn’t able to grow up with my Gloucester family. I wonder if there is anyone there who would know of the Perry’s, Ruth’s or Martell’s. My grandmother was Margaret F. Ruth.

    Like

  • Nice job EJ!
    I did a tribute article about this subjet.
    I always get deeply emotional about this icon,
    and what it represents to me. Hope. Always hope.

    http://bore-head007.newsvine.com/_news/2010/11/05/5412922-tribute-to-sacrifice-foto-friday

    Like

  • In response to Frances, was Mary any relation to Eva Perry who would have graduated high school in the 1930’s?

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

