Monthly Archives: March 2011

Poll- How Do You Access GMG?

First full day of Spring: Where is the sun?

You live in New England so snow is not unexpected this first full day of spring. But the sun is doing its equinox thing whether we can see it or not.

Equinox: equal day and equal night. But a good visualization can be found here using a cool solar calculator. Click your favorite spot to view sunrise and also check the boxes at the bottom for sunrise and sunset.

For December 21 sunrise would look like this:

and June 21 sunrise would look like this:

Today, sunrise is doing the perfect splits. Straight east and straight west:

Ah, the equal night and day makes sense now.

Ask Yourself: Is It Facebook-worthy?

Here’s a random post for you that doesn’t involve Rockport, festivals, home design, opossums, or any of my other favorite subjects for posting. It involves a question, one I have been pondering for quite some time now…

Why do so many people post about their family health issues on facebook? I’m not talking about using facebook as a convenient means of updating a whole bunch of people about an illness or accident. I mean updating everyone in your network with general musings about you and your offspring’s general state of health, usually a few minutes into your day.

A typical status update goes something like: “Feeling under the weather today. Hope I can get in to the doctor’s”.  Then, four hours later: “Feeling a little better. Took Tanner to his grandmother’s house and she gave me some Codeine she had left over from her last surgery. Yippee!”. Then, in another four hours: “Too sick to get up from the couch to make supper. Hope it’s just a 24-hour thing. Just grateful I managed to type in this status update with my aching flu-ridden fingers.”

I realize these examples are a little…over the top. And I realize I could just avoid reading these status updates, and I realize that one could question pretty much everything people choose to post on facebook. But — as far as I’m concerned anway — I understand updating people on major events, posting photos from the school concert, a vacation, et cetera. But providing all of your friends, family, colleagues, old boyfriends and that girl you knew for a few months in the 5th grade with a blow-by-blow account of your physical ups and downs — with a brief narration of taking your kids to the doctor thrown in for good measure? This something outside my range of comprehension. Which might speak to my limitations, and, if so, I’m sorry, facebook friends. I will try to be more sympathetic.

And on that note, I thought I’d let all the readers of GMG know that I’m sort of feeling like I have a cold coming on. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Did You Know? (Gloucester Fisherman’s Memorial)

Gloucester Fishserman's Memorial, also know as the Man at the Wheel

Photo Composite by E.J. Lefavour

That the Gloucester Fisherman’s Memorial (also known as the Man at the Wheel statue) is a tribute to the more than 10,000 Gloucester fishermen who have lost their lives at sea over the centuries and a reminder that fishing is our country’s most dangerous occupation? The statue is the work of sculptor Leonard Craske (1877-1951) and is based on a 1901 painting by Gloucester artist A.W. Buhler.  It is an 8-foot-tall bronze statue positioned so that the fisherman is looking out over Gloucester Harbor. The fisherman in the sculpture was modeled after Capt. Clayton Morrissey, a prominent Gloucester fisherman, once the captain of the Effie M. Morrissey.  A small plaque on the north or street-facing side of the base reads, “Memorial To The Gloucester Fisherman, August 23, 1923.” A larger recessed panel on the harbor-facing side of the base holds an inscription of bronze letters taken from the Bible’s Psalm 107:23, which reads: “They That Go Down To The Sea In Ships 1623-1923.”

I know that everyone in Gloucester knows this, but there may be some GMG readers out there that don’t.

E.J. Lefavour

http://www.khanstudiointernational.com/did%20you%20know%20book.htm

2011 Fish and Fisheries Public Seminar Series

Emily Chandler Writes-

Hello Joey,
I am the program manager for the Large Pelagics Research Center.  We are a scientific research group that recently moved from the University of New Hampshire to Gloucester and the University of Massachusetts Amherst. We conduct biological and ecological research on pelagic species including tunas, sharks, billfish, and sea turtles and our director, Dr. Molly Lutcavage, has been working with the local Gloucester fishing fleet on bluefin tuna research since 1993. We are now located in Gloucester, MA and, as part of the Marine Fisheries Institute, are working to revitalize the UMass Marine Station at Hodgkins Cove.
We are co-hosting a public seminar series with the Gloucester Maritime Heritage Center on Thursday evenings from March 31st through May 5th.  Talks will be on a variety of fish topics ranging from bluefin tuna to great white sharks.

image

Dog Bar Restaurant Grand Re-opening This Weekend!

Dog Bar Restaurant Grand Re-opening this weekend with New Menu. Thursday – Millie Manning Band, Friday – Pete Lindberg, Joe Cardoza and Jake Pardee, Saturday – Justin Tocco and Rockin Rewind. Please come down and see our renovated listening room and try a complementary bowl of Monk Fish Chowder.

Click the picture for the DogBar website

image

Yesterdays “Art, Rocks!” Rock Found

 

I wanted to see if using Twitter for This “Art, Rocks!” thing would work. It did. Here’s the email I received;

 

Paul,

Very COOL.

I found the “Art, Rocks” at Good Harbor Beach. Nice sketch. I have to admit that I must have walked by it 2 or 3 times (I went across the street to look right after your tweet that you left one). The photo clue was what did it…I have been back and forth enough times on my first venture to have pretty much memorized the rocks along the sidewalk :-))).

Thanks for what you do, both for art and for Gloucester. You and Joey C are two of the Great Ones!

Best,

Ed Comer Innkeeper/owner

Blue Shutters Beachside Inn

www.blueshuttersbeachside.com

 
(978) 283-1198