Monthly Archives: March 2011

Mark O’Connell Has Questions About The Gale of 1862

Hello Joe,

I am planning on restoring a family cenotaph for a fisherman that went down to the sea during the Gale of February 24, 1862.

I care for 5 burial plots at St. Mary’s Cemetary in Newburyport. One of the stones… is an obelisk cut out of marble in 1862. On it reads Robert Hamilton, Drown at Sea, February 24, 186 . I decided to investigate professional cleaning and the re-cutting of the stone this summer, but since I couldn’t positively see the date of death, I began to investigate my great great grandfather’s death date.
Thank God I had a childhood memory… I used to play with a bookend of The Gloucester Fisherman. I remember my grandmother seeing me at play and then telling me that she was an invited guest at the unveiling of the Gloucester Fishermen’s Monument back when she was a young woman during the 1920’s.  She told me that apparently the paymaster had recorded my relatives’  name incorrectly in 1862.  Although the name is misspelled "Robert Hambleton" on the Fishermen’s Cenotaph she arranged for the paper transcript corrected  to the correct Robert Hamilton spelling.
I contacted the Gloucester Fishermen’s Memorial Committee and they said someone had changed the record.

From there I was able to find out the crews. I had family members on The Schooner Ocean Traveler which went down heading towards Newfoundland on January 1, 1862….and, a relative that mastered The Schooner North Star, and my great great grandfather, Robert Hamilton went down along with his cousin of his and 7 others on The Schooner "Contest" on February 24, 1862 on George’s Bank.

During my research, I was given your name.  I am writing to you in hopes that you may be able to tell me of whether you are aware of any kind of organization of relatives of the fishermen that went down that day.

I thank you for any information that you may be able to provide to me.  I’d like to contact any known relative and perhaps organize some kind of sesquicentennial remembrance.

Regards, Mark O’Connell

All I could find is this Mark-

It is a website Called The Historical Marker Database and it has a whole page dedicated to the Fisherman’s Memorial -

Gloucester Fishermen’s Memorial

Click the picture below to check out all the pictures and interesting stories about the Gloucester Fishermen’s memorial

image

GMG Cape Ann Animal Aid Pet of The Week

Summer

Hi!  My name is Summer and I am a six-month-old, brown-and-
white friendly Retriever/Hound.  I love to take walks, enjoy
meeting new people and dogs.   I am residing at the shelter
at the Cape Ann Animal Aid until I am adopted.   I am
receiving wonderful attention here; they just love me to
pieces.  I have lots of energy, but I also enjoy my down
time and like to cuddle.  You can tell by looking into my
eyes what a sweet disposition I have.   Please stop down
to 260 Main Street in Gloucester and see for yourself!

Did You Know (Our Lady of Good Voyage)

Photo by E.J. Lefavour

That the original statue of Our Lady of Good Voyage is on exhibit at the Cape Ann Museum? Originally dedicated in 1893, Our Lady of Good Voyage was built for the Portuguese community in Gloucester, after they petitioned the Roman Catholic Church for the establishment of a place to worship dedicated to the Madonna. Large numbers of Portuguese immigrants migrated from the rugged Azores Islands and began settling around Gloucester’s Inner Harbor as early as 1829 to work in the city’s active fishing industry. By 1888, approximately 200 Portuguese families lived in Gloucester making it the largest Portuguese colony on the East Coast. According to the story of Our Lady of Good Voyage, a stranded fisherman in the rough Atlantic Ocean broke one of his oars and could not return to his homeport. He sought help from the Madonna and the sea miraculously calmed allowing him to reach port safely.

A fire destroyed the original church in 1914. Prominent architect Halfdan M. Hanson designed and immediately began building the existing, unique Mission style church, which replaced the earlier church. It is the only Mission style church in Gloucester. Modeled after a church in the Azores, Our Lady of Good Voyage consists of two distinct sections: the two-story main worship space that is of a cruciform plan and an L-shaped rectory that extends from the northwest corner of the main worship space. The rectory, which was built between 1872 and 1884 as a separate building, was incorporated into the new church. Resting on a granite foundation, the building is covered in a buff-colored stucco. Flanked by two identical bell towers, the central bay of the façade is pierced by the main entrance at the first level. A rose window adorns the second level, above which rises an ogee pediment supporting a pedestal and a statue of Our Lady of Good Voyage, who holds a boat in her left hand as a symbol of a safe voyage. In 1922, bells were installed in the towers. These bells, still in place today, were cast by John Taylor & Company of England-the same foundry that cast Phildelphia’s Liberty Bell.

Our Lady of Good Voyage is located at 142 Prospect St. in Gloucester and is an active church. For further information, call Our Lady of Good Voyage Parish at 978-283-1490.

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

Dave Sag’s Blues Party to host John Keegan of Madhouse.

It’s a busy week , so let’s get going! This thursday  at the Rhumb Line, Fred is proud to present John Keegan®, martini expert, and leader of men. Best known for leading “Madhouse” over any musical cliff he encounters, Johnny K. is the MAN, pure and simple. He’ll be bringing  his ants with him, and we’ll be crawling all over you!  Side effects include the apoplectic John Hyde, jazz snob and loving husband, on Keyboards and beret, the inimitable Jeff Casper, the friendly drummer, on skins and plumbing advice, and of course, Greg T. and Myself. Do not driveuntil you know how John Keegan® affects you. Now, Monday, for those of you who the Republicans blame for not working, C’mon down to the Rose Baker Senior Center. From 1 to 3  in the afternoon, the OLD SALTY JAZZ BAND does its thing. It’s FREE! We play music written for the Pharoahs and beyond. We’ll never give up! It’s a blast! We’ve got Charlie Sheen in a cage! He really doesn’t have a problem…honest! But, wait, there’s more!  Next Tuesday nite is Fat Tuesday, and to celebrate Mardi Gras, Lat 43 has  hired yours truly with my band of brothers to cerebrate the onset of Lent. I’m giving up olives. The band consists of Gid Loring, walking encyclopedia of swing  (and Trad jazz) on Trumpet and vocals, Frank Stadler, on Keys, John Hicks, on Guitar, vocals and banjo, Benny Goldstein, on reeds and myself, on bass and vocals. Come see why I drink! They won’t let me name the band! Who could blame them! Mark Earley was gonna play but he’s got all these chicken parts clogging up his horn. So he’s on the DL. We don’t need him! http://www.madhouseproductions.com/www/cover.html http://www.musicco.com/en/page/artist-details.cfm?idArtist=18

GMG Questions and Answers- Harriet Webster

Harriet is the Executive Director at the Gloucester Maritime Heritage Center.

How long have you lived in Gloucester?  41 years

What is your favorite season In Gloucester? spring (it may be cold and muddy but if offers so much promise)

Do you have any secret outdoor spots in Gloucester where you go to “get away”? the rocks overlooking Halibut Point, Dogtown walks

What is your favorite sub shop in Gloucester? Virgilio’s

What place would you go for a romantic dinner in Gloucester? Passports

What is your favorite bar in Gloucester? Halibut Point

What is your favorite breakfast joint in Gloucester? Morning Glory

What is your favorite local event in Gloucester? Gloucester Maritime Heritage Day
In the summer do you prefer the beach or to be on a boat? beach 

Who is your favorite local artist? Jeff Weaver

Which is your favorite local beach? Good Harbor

Who has the best chowder in town? Causeway Restaurant

Excluding GMG what is your second favorite local blog? Yours is the only one I look at.

Do you prefer haddock chowder or clam chowder? Haddock

What is your favorite Gloucester neighborhood? Lanesville

What is your favorite local band? Walker Creek

Fly Amero to host Rocky Kramm tonight.




Hello everyone!
Wednesday, March 2nd
Special Guest: ROCKY KRAMM!

Sophisticated arrangements.  Hilariously entertaining.
Dinner with Fly Amero: 8 – 11pm
*I
host and perform as always
*Each week features a special, invited musical guest
*Comfort food dinner specials from Dave Trooper
s kitchen
*Sponsored by Shipyard Ale
Great fun!
Food is prepared fresh by “Troop” and is always good!
Fred features special discounted entrees with half-off
on a Shipyard every week!
Sincerely…
I hope to see you there!  :-) ~ Fly

Wall of Figure and Effect video

From Deb Clarke;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RstCgSCb-k8

I gave my drummer boy David a camera. A few nights ago he had to calibrate one of his lights for a performance and used the large “Four Stand” painting. He liked what the lights did to the painting, so he composed some music and synced it to the shots of “Four Stand”, throwing in some other paintings to vary the visual image.

Maybe we will have a black room show someday with spots hitting the paintings under his direction.

I like the music and his unique way of seeing of my work.

best,
deb.