Did You Know (Spring)

Photo by E.J. Lefavour

Spring really is right around the corner.  You can see the snow and ice are just about gone from the shoreline, rocks and rooftops, and some ground is even exposed in places.  The Vernal Equinox will occur on March 20th at 23:21 (11:21 pm), 28 days from now.  An equinox occurs twice a year (spring and fall), when the tilt of the Earth’s axis is inclined neither away from nor towards the Sun, the center of the Sun being in the same plane as the Earth’s equator.   On a day of the equinox, the center of the Sun spends a roughly equal amount of time above and below the horizon at every location on the Earth, night and day being of roughly the same length.  This photo really has nothing to do with spring, but was a new vantage point I discovered to view the lighthouse from, and thought it would be new to others too. 

E.J. Lefavour

www.khanstudiointernational.com

About E.J.

Artist, researcher, writer, spiritual traveler of this fascinating orb we inhabit, lover of life and all it has to offer. Hi everyone out there in GMG land. My name is Ellen “E.J.” Lefavour (a/k/a “Ejay Khan” – the pseudonym I used during my years as a political activist artist). I moved to Cape Ann in September of 2010, and was thrilled to be invited by Joey to become a daily contributor to Good Morning Gloucester in December of that year. I am a painter, photographer and writer who has lived and worked as an artist for 20 years, since leaving the corporate world in 1990 to pursue my passion. My contributions to GMG will consist of images (either my paintings, photographs, montages or the occasional video) and a little history about the image, called “Did you Know?” I hope to come up with tidbits of information that people don’t already know, or had forgotten they knew. As I am new here, everything is new and fascinating to me, especially the amazing history, so bear with me if I post something that is common knowledge – I’ll eventually come up with something that’s new to you. As an artist, I will also write about the incredible art scene on Cape Ann. Please take a minute to comment on my posts, like them or not, especially if you have corrections or something to add, as that is how I, and all of us, learn. Have a Good Morning Gloucester, and a blessed day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did You Know (Spring)

  1. Debra Campbell says:

    Great shot, and good to see the snow melting. I worry about fast melts, my mom ends up with water in the basement, UGH.

  2. Sharon says:

    EJ-
    I’m loving your posts! Your contributions are so informative and entertaining and the artwork in amazing. Glad you’re on GMG!

  3. E.J. says:

    Hi Debra, fortunately the melt has been gradual so far. My mother has the same problem with her basement and we don’t want to see a repeat of last spring’s major flooding.
    Sharon, thanks so much. Coming from a great photographer and contributor as yourself, that is a great compliment. I am really happy to be on GMG too!

  4. Chris says:

    Beautiful photograph, E.J. :) I can’t wait to see some of your spring time photographs! And to come up for a visit to see the real thing. Great posts all around, E.J., keep up the awesome work! – Chris

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

