BLT at Willow Rest

Some sandwiches I don’t think I have ever ordered, tuna fish sandwich, PB&J, or a BLT. Why? because I know I can make them better myself and they are so easy to make. I think I shied away from ordering a BLT because I figured they would just use the bacon left over from breakfast. Until Sue and Evvy split a BLT at Willow Rest. They let me have one bite. Wow.  It wasn’t until this week that I got back to order one for myself.

This bacon lettuce and tomato is better than I have ever made.

The bun: soft and chewy, buttered and toasted on the grill for a nice layer of crunch.

Bacon: thick, salty, smoked, I think you can get this in the Willow Rest refridgerator case.

Lettuce: fluffy pile for good texture to oppose the crunch of bacon and the grilled bun.

Tomato: still getting that homegrown taste in December.

The mayo: some kind of secret mixture with a nice tang to it.

The last five times I’ve stopped at the Willow Rest I can’t help ordering the Cuban. I might have found the lunch that will win the next five visits.

8 comments

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

