Monthly Archives: August 2010

Last Chance to See Critically Acclaimed An Ideal Husband at Gloucester Stage

AnIdealHusband 214LCAB

Last Chance to See Critically Acclaimed

An Ideal Husband

at Gloucester Stage

This week is the final opportunity to see the fresh new adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband at Gloucester Stage. The critically acclaimed production must close on Sunday, August 29. Directed by 2010 Elliot Norton Medal Winner Karen MacDonald, a cast of four actors portray nine characters adding a gender-bending layer to Wilde’s classic comedy about friendship, political corruption, blackmail and redemption – as timely today as when first presented in 1895. This novel adaptation by Daniel Morris of Wilde’s delightful work features Boston actors Angie Jepson, Brendan Powers, Carrie Ann Quinn and Lewis D. Wheeler. The performance schedule for the final week of  An Ideal Husband is  Wednesday, August 25 through Saturday, August 28 at 8 pm; a Saturday matinees on August 28 at 3 pm and a Sunday performances on August 29 at 4 pm. A limited amount of discount tickets are available to Cape Ann residents for all Wednesday and Thursday 8 pm performances. For these performances only, Cape Ann residents can purchase half price tickets for $18.50. Advance reservations are strongly suggested to ensure tickets at the discounted price. Year round Cape Ann residents must identify themselves as Cape Ann residents when making a reservation and proof of residency must be presented at the box office the night of the performance. Gloucester Stage is handicapped accessible. Ticket prices are $37 for all performances. Senior citizen & student tickets are $32 for all performances. For reservations or further information, call the Gloucester Stage Box Office at 978-281-4433 or visit www.gloucesterstage.org.

 

AnIdealHusbandLewisAngie 084

The Market, Annisquam Where good food comes from.

When I was a teenager I read “The Magus” by John Fowles. A strange and fascinating book with the main character named Nicholas Urfe and his girlfriend called him Nico. I thought that was the coolest name and have used it on occasion. Then Joey interviews the couple behind “The Market” restaurant in Annisquam and I run into a name that is even better. Nico Tuesday. I won’t steal that name but maybe if you find Nico Sunday up to no good you might know who it is.

After powdering my nose I quick shot of Nico Monday and Amelia O’Reilly sharing a laugh in the kitchen before they get down to making some dishes that I felt no embarrassment licking the plate.

OK, the two bottles of wine we brought helped too. A week earlier we tried breakfast and the fish cakes were very good but luckily a little homemade bread allowed me to clean my plate without embarrassing my family. Now all that is left is lunch with their homemade potato chips.

Rich and Jessica Share Coolidge Reservation Pics

Hey Joey,

This is Rich and Jessica.  We had the pleasure to meet you Friday night at the block party.  We also met Ed C, as well as Nick (?) and the boys.  First we had a fantastic dinner at Topside grilled, then we went and enjoyed the block party which we knew about thanks to the GMG blog.  We witnessed some great photos and amazing custom furniture in the open stores.  The highlight of the night was meeting some nice people.  We’ve been fortunate to meet some nice people every time we come up to visit Gloucester ( a lot!).

Attached are a few pictures of Coolidge Reservation we want to share.  My wife and I visited in May.  What a beautiful place to picnic or just relax!

Talk to you soon!

Rich and Jess

Rich
http://www.our-music.net/

image

image

image

Aiden Symes From Cape Ann Art Haven TAG Program At The Farmer’s Market

TAG=Teen artist Guild   Here Aiden Symes displays his line of Blue Monster apparel.

DSC09231

 

The teen artist guild is yet another great program from Cape Ann Art Haven which is teaching the young artist how to market and sell their art rather than simply creating and letting the stuff pile up.  I’ll never forget walking through Howie Klien’s house in Rockport where there were basically only pathways throughout his house due to the stacks and stacks of paintings lined up against the walls.

I can’t say enough how valuable Cape Ann Art Haven is to our community.

Video with Aiden coming tomorrow

DSC09235

DSC09232

 DSC09233

Sundays “Art, Rock!” Found

A few hours after Sketching, Dropping and Posting My latest “Art Rock” Sunday, I received this email from the Serrin Family.

“As soon as we saw the post we rushed right over there.  So excited to finally find one!  We are big fans of GMG.  Little Jack Serrin loves his new toy.”  :)    The Serrin Family

The Serrin Family Photo of where I left the Rock

Here’s Little Jack Serrin with his new Toy

I accept no responsibility for the damage "Little Jack" may do with that Rock

Thanks to the Serrins for the Kind Words.


Where Zat? Winner!!

This week’s Where’s Zat? location is the Dress Code consignment shop owned by one of my favorite people, Barbara Koen. Others guessed Gloucester Music.

So this week’s winner (the first correct answer) is Gina Curcuru! Congratulations, Gina!

Thanks for playing! Watch for next week’s Where Zat? on Monday at 9 a.m.!

Sam and Erin Rulli Sail For Sailing!

 

Good morning Joey,
I’m a long-time fan of GMG. My husband, Sam, & I are Gloucester residents and met you one morning when we visited Capt Joe’s earlier this summer.  I still have to stop by for my GMG sticker!
At the beginning of the summer I saw your post on the SailGHS fundraising sails. Our calendar was too busy to get something booked, but when I saw the later post with pictures from one of the sail participants I decided we needed to make time. I emailed Patti Page who put me in touch with Hilary and we quickly set up a time for Saturday morning at 9:30.
We awoke to a sunny, windless day but were excited for our sail nonetheless. We met at the Pier where Patti took us out to the boats. Sam, Hilary & I enjoyed a fabulous 2 1/2 hours in the harbor on a Rhodes 18. We learned a bit about sailing, the SailGHS program, the birds in the area, the history of the Rhodes 18 and lots of other good stuff. We eventually did catch enough wind to go back and forth across the harbor a few times. Sunshine and fresh air out on the water….it doesn’t get any better! After the sail Hilary took us around the inner harbor in her Boston Whaler, we got to see the shore and boats up close. We left with our Again & Again pouch, some basics on sailing and a high level of excitement to do another sail with SailGHS next month and to take a weeklong sailing course in Boston next summer.
I can’t say enough how much fun we had and how happy we were to be able to support such a great program. Patti & Hilary were just great. We think Patti’s idea for a community boating center is Gloucester is a must-do and look forward to supporting the SailGHS program and any efforts towards a community sailing program in the future.
Thanks for posting about the fundraising sails!
Cheers,
Erin Rulli

image

GMG Adopt A Pet of The Week – Nadine

 

Nadine

Nadine – Pet of the Week
Good Morning Gloucester!  My name is Nadine and I am an affectionate and
sweet orange-and-brown cat.   I am friendly, and have lived
with other cats and get along well with others.   I will never allow a
mouse in my house – I am an indoor cat, but if a mouse were to
appear – it would be lunch!   Will you please consider giving a
lovely lady a forever home?  Please stop by the Cape Ann Animal
Aid in Gloucester and visit me.  We are a non-profit shelter located
at 260 Main Street in Gloucester.   We of course appreciate donations
to our Building Fund and are excited about our new shelter to built in
the future – but we are also very grateful for donation of gas cards
for our shelter van, bleach, large trash bags and of course… toys
for shelter cats and dogs.    Please consider stopping by the Cape
Ann Animal Aid and visiting me – I would be so happy to find a family
to love me and do you know what….I would love you more!

thanks to Tina Ketchopolos For Sending In The pets of The week For GMG

Steven Rosenberg Talks With Scott Memhard In Boston Globe Article About Gloucester

Ice demand has melted away

Globe photo-

Scott Memhard of Cape Pond Ice has seen his harbor business drop by more than half.

Scott Memhard of Cape Pond Ice has seen his harbor business drop by more than half.

By Steven Rosenberg

Globe Staff / August 22, 2010

To read the entire article click here

thanks Chuck Cook for forwarding me the story