Monthly Archives: August 2010

It’s Not To Late To Send In Your Picture At The Gloucester Fisherman Triathlon

The thing about GMG is that we are inclusive and feel like the more we can involve contributions from our community the better the site will be for everyone. So if you have a photo of yourself or if someone took a picture of you at the race send it in to goodmorninggloucester@yahoo.com and we will make a GMG contributor slide show of your photos. Be sure to include the triathlete’s name!

Here is a submission from yesterday for example-
Stephanie Swanson Writes-
Hi Joey – LOVE your blog!! Here’s a photo of me and my friend Linda – both first time triathletes. We had a blast. I love living in Gloucester!!

Thanks for all you do!!

Stephanie

Good Morning Gloucester Pet of The Week

From Tina Ketchopolos-

Chocolate

My name is Chocolate and I am a sweet one-year-old girl pup.
I was hit by a car when I was just a few months old
and my front leg had to be removed – but this doesn’t
slow me down at all! I think I am Retrieve,
Corgi and terrific.   If you  would like to meet me,
I am at the Cape Ann Animal Aid in Gloucester.
Dog Day is Sunday, September 12 from
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. at Stage Fort Park in Gloucester.
I would just love to be adopted and go to this
event with my new owner(s).  I know a few people
might look at me because of my injury – – but it doesn’t matter
what is missing – what matters is what I have – a good heart!

Green Meadows Farm: CSA Haul

Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) means that you invest in the farm by paying at the planting season so the farmer has money for seed and then you get a share of the food they produce.

Our CSA keeps us in touch with reality of the seasons, the food, and gets us outside. (Not to mention it’s a great value and delicious!) It is so much fun every week picking up our produce and cutting flowers and herbs. Almost every week has pick your own such as blueberries and beans the week this was taken.

Here is the haul from our small share a few weeks back plus some focal art from my wee one…

CSA Haul

Many local farms offer them and at less than $20 a week it’s a great value for our small share. If you’re interested, find a local CSA here at Local Harvest.

Things To Do- Working Waterfront Walking Tour

Working Waterfront Walking Tour

Working Waterfront Walking Tour

Come join us for a walking tour of the Gloucester Working Harbor, starting at the Fisherman’s Statue and ending at the Fitz Henry Lane Park. We will be looking at old photographs and maps, taking us back to the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. Old companies and buildings will be identified at their original locations as we make our way down the Boulevard and Rogers St.

Be prepared to go back in time to Gloucester’s fishing heyday.

Schooner Festival, Sept. 4 at 10 am.      http://www.capeannvacations.com/schooner/schedule/

Essex National Heritage Area’s Trails and Sails, Sept. 18 and 25 at 10 am.     http://www.essexheritage.org/ts/

 

image

Thanks To Frank Doeringer for sending this in

Jann and Ed Greenburg Have A Gloucester Tourism Question

Ed Writes-

Hi Joey:

We live across the harbor from Captain Joe’s on Freshwater Cove and could not believe our eyes today at about 12:00 noon when a people packed BHC ( Boston Harbor Cruise) ferry came into the harbor and turned around in front of the Copper Paint factory and proceeded to leave the port abruptly.

Query: Why can’t we arrange for said ferry (ies) to tie up and either stay for a couple of hours or at the very least drop people off in Gloucester and/or take people to Boston ? Isn’t Cruiseport designed to do that? Why can’t we at least be part of the Salem – Boston run. It is hard to see that many people with just as many wallets make such a quick meaningless trip.

Sincerely

Jann & Ed

Anyone wanna take a stab at this one?

Check out Jimmy T.’s interview on CBS.com

Click here for all previous posts with Jimmy T Pictures and Videos

Click on Jimmy T.’s photo for the CBS interview

and….

Check out the new cast of Survivor Nicaragua … featuring JIMMY T!!

From Jimmy T’s Bio Page on CBS.com-

Biography
Jimmy T

Name: James “Jimmy T” Tarantino (48)
Tribe: Espada
Current Residence: Gloucester, Mass.
Occupation: Commercial Fisherman
Personal Claim to Fame: My children
Inspiration in Life: Jim Ciaramitaro. He’s just a really good person.
Hobbies: Rowing, hiking, swimming.
Pet Peeves: Low tolerance for incompetence.
3 Words to Describe You: Charismatic, genuine, proud.
SURVIVOR Contestant You Are Most Like: Rupert. I’m just as lovable.
Reason for being on SURVIVOR: Pride in myself and my community. They helped me win the Sears Casting Call and I intend on doing them proud.
Why you think you will be the sole SURVIVOR: I’m resourceful and I have the ability to win.

2010 Gloucester Fisherman Triathlon Pics from David Cox Part I

I couldn’t be prouder of our coverage of The Gloucester Fisherman Triathlon. 

Everyone stepped up to once again bring you the very best coverage of the event all the way from this past winter when we started our interviews with Janda and Judy Destino pumping up the race, Manny getting everyone excited with his pre-race interviews, throughout our live coverage and reporting as well as posting photos of the winners within minutes of them crossing the finish line, Thom Falzarano’s photo slideshow of the beginning of the race with over 70 hi res pictures posted within an hour of the start of the race,Sister Felicia sending in pictures as the race was unfolding, Marty posting his usual journalistic quality scene photography, Ed Collard getting the footage of the race course and calmly describing the scenesOver 500 hi res photos in all, over 5 hours of video coverage, community photos and involvement, and being the very first to report the winners anywhere I’d say I owe the crew a pizza party at the very least.

You Guys Rock and we once again proved that THIS IS THE SOURCE!  GMG BABY!  Here’s the start of the Fantastic camera work by our David Cox!

Judy Destino and Family

DSC_12_0241

Bobby Gillis With The Fist Bump

DSC_16_0245

 DSC_43_0272

DSC_63_0292

 DSC_66_0295

 DSC_8357_0162