Art Rocks! Looks Like it found a Great Home!

 

First of all; I usually don’t think things through too much. I just do it and deal with the fallout later. Such as some of my Posts here on GMG. :)

Sometimes I’ll Complain to Joey that I have nothing left to offer that’s interesting to the GMG Readers. Joey will say a few inspiring words. Words that I can’t repeat here at the moment. Maybe another Time. But, he does motivate me.

I came up with the idea of these “Art Rocks” When I  heard the song by the band The Police, “Message in a Bottle” When I was down at Pebble Beach Sketching. So I sketched a few rocks with my Sharpie and left them for someone to find. I didn’t think of it until I received emails saying they found my “Art Rock” and loved the idea. So I did a few more and left them at Cressy Beach. When I was back there a few days later the Rocks were gone but I never received any emails. I wrote Joey an email saying the “Art Rocks” are Bust! He didn’t think so, he said just keep trying. So I figured I try one at the State Fish Pier. The response really moved me. When I think “Why do I keep doing this GMG thing it takes up a lot of my time and Brain Power. Ok, no wise ass remarks on that last one please. Now I Know why. GMG has a lot of Positive effect on people and myself. I’m just glad I could contribute a little with this “Art Rocks” thing.  THANKS! GMG, JOEY and of course DEBBIE CLARKE for all of her Encouragement and Inspiration.

OK, ON WITH THE POST.

“Art, Rocks!”

I left an “Art Rock” at the State Fish Pier (my favorite hang out) Saturday Morning.

here’s the link to that Post: Paint Factory “Art Rock” click here

I Love viewing the Paint Factory and the going ons there during the rising and setting sun. The Area Glows with Light at those times. I decided to draw the Paint Factory on a Rock and leave it there for someone to find. You never know who will find it. I left my email address on it so the person who found it could contact me.

I’d like to share the emails with you that I received from the person who found it.

First Email From Debbie;

Was in Gloucester today. Found your rock at State Pier around 12:30 not sure what your game is please tell me if I was supposed too turn it in somewhere.
Debbie
South Windsor, CT
My reply back To Debbie;
 
Hi, Debbie,
Thanks for contacting me.
it’s no game. Sorry you didn’t win anything other than a rock. :)  Keep it if you like it. I paint and draw a lot. When the mood hits I’ll draw a scene of where i am and leave the rock for someone to find. A FREE SOUVENIR.
Hope you like it. I also write for a popular website here in Gloucester, Ma. called Good Morning Gloucester. It’s a site about what’s happening here and beautiful photos of the area. If you’d like you could send me a picture of you and whoever else was with you and how came across the rock and  I’d post it up on that site. It’s up to you, But I hope you liked my Rock. Here’s a link to the post I put up after I left my rock art there.

http://goodmorninggloucester.wordpress.com/2010/07/31/free-artwork-rocks/

Take Care,
Paul Frontiero

The Last Email From Debbie;

I think this is the best game, hide and seek! With an awesome prize. It is the best souvenir I have gotten.
I went up there with my friends Greg and Anita Dziedzic and Jim Gularte. Anita lost her son in Iraq on 8/1/05, Sgt. David Coullard, he was a Marine Sniper and my friend. Jim is a sniper instructor at Camp Pendleton who has reached out to Anita. We all went to see Gloucester a favorite get-a-way of Anita’s to try to help her through this emotional weekend. It really brightened her day when I found the rock. Thank you for sharing your art with us.
Debbie, South Windsor, CT
 
I really don’t know what to write after that email.
Other Than, Thank you Debbie, you made my Summer.

The People that were with Debbie; Greg and Anita Dziedzic and Jim Gularte

The rock that Debbie found. Medium; Sharpie on Sea Rock

Sharpies Rule!

15 comments

  • As my daughter would say, “epic win” on those art rocks Paul.

    I always listen to Joey. Resistance is futile.

    Like

  • WOW!! Good thing that you listen to Joey, you might have missed a great life event. Good going Paul,

    Like

  • so, there ya go….
    it truly is the little things…

    Like

  • Nice! “A thing of beauty is a joy for ever…”

    Like

  • Art Rocks is such a great concept and tag line, Paul – keep it up! Have you considered enlisting other local artists to join the project? You could literally take this idea ‘coastal!’ And how about mixing it up with some colored sharpie’s? ;-)

    Like

  • That’s a great story! I’d LOVE to find one of your rocks. Rockport has some great scenes too!! I’ll be looking :-)

    Like

  • Art Rocks touched my heart! When my children were young, we would go to Rockport for a vacation every summer and stay with my best friend, who also had young children. We would always collect rocks and take them home to paint. Over the years we have built quite a collection, but I never thought of leaving them for others to enjoy. You are an inspration. Thank you.

    Like

  • Thanks ALL! Vicki that’s where the idea started. But I’ll put one out for you this weekend.

    Thanks Julie That’s very nice of you to say!
    “an Inspiration”? I guess you have’nt read many of my Posts here :)

    Like

  • way to go Paul! i once put ‘totem dolls’ on pebble beach a long, long time ago as way to commemorate an ending and a new beginning. there’s magic in those rocks. blessings,
    deb.

    Like

  • see paul, even an old curmudgeon like you can make people smile. lol. great job,they look really cool.

    Like

  • Hi Paul,
    I was with Debbie when she found the rock. I could not believe it!
    She came over to me and asked me about it. It really made my day. I am so very happy.
    We have been coming to Gloucester for ever. My Mom was born in Glosta.
    David & I used to go cod fishing, when he got older.
    Anita
    Proud mother of the the late Sgt David Coullard.
    Scout Sniper for the USMC.

    Like

  • Hi, Anita!
    Thank you so much for your comment! You Guys made my Summer. I’m glad the Rock found a great home.
    So far that’s my favorite rock drawing. I love the view of the Paint Factory from there.
    Gloucester has a Tradition of Sacrifice, for Family, Friends and Country. We consider your Son David a true “Gloucesterman” We could never be grateful enough for Davids sacrifice for all of us. You will Always be in our thoughts.
    Take Care,
    Paul

    Like

  • My Son, A True Gloucesterman! What an Honor!
    We are planing a trip to the island in Sept to do some kayaking. It would be woulderful to met you for lunch. I will send the dates.
    Anita
    MOM

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

