Monthly Archives: March 2010

Chickity Check It!- Cape Ann Web

From Cathy Tarr-

Hey Joe,
When you have some time, would you consider adding Cape Ann Web to the list of links on GMG?

That was my first baby – it’s been online since 2002,  It’s a somewhat static site (except for the restaurant reviews), more practical than pretty – updated when I have time to search for new sites or when people submit suggestions.

It’s mostly a directory of online resources for Cape Ann – I created it more for residents than tourists, with quick links and searches to city/town information. The Community Sites page is pretty cool and extensive.  I added a blog roll a few months ago.  It’s pretty much all about what’s out there about Cape Ann on the Web!  I feel like it’s the mama web site for all the great sites that have been created in the past 8 years.

I’ve been thinking about another charity bowling smack-down – one of these days.  Oh … and when we do, I’ve got Dean signed up … on my team.  hahaha

Thanks!
cathy

Cheddar Cheese Soda Bread–a simple recipe with great results!

Hi All!  I made this recipe when I got an email from the King Arthur Flour Company with a similar recipe.  I changed it up a little but the original is so delicious that I didn’t do much, trust me!  I wanted to make the bread a little healthier so I changed out some of the all purpose flour for some King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour (which has more fiber) and used reduced fat cheese instead of full fat.  I also upped the salt a bit because I prefer a tiny bit more salt in my bread.  If you make it, please let me know what you think.

Cheddar Cheese Soda Bread

1 1/2 cups King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour
1 cup all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons cold salted butter, cut in to small pieces
8 oz reduced fat cheddar cheese (I used jalapeno cheddar for a kick), shredded
1 cup buttermilk
1 large egg, at room temperature

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Work in cold butter with fingertips until small crumbs form.  Add cheese and toss to combine.

In another bowl, whisk together buttermilk and eggs until well combined.  Add to flour and cheese mixture and fold until just combined.

Turn dough out on to a well floured surface.  Knead several times and shape in to a smooth ball.  Transfer to prepared baking sheet.

Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes until golden brown and a skewer inserted in to the middle of the loaf comes out clean.  Allow to cool slightly before serving.  Makes excellent sandwich bread or toast.

FIND ME!

If  you find  it you can have it,  or in the Fraggle Rock Christmas Tradition pass it on.

I did a few quick sketches on a couple of rocks at Pebble Beach in Rockport about 2:15pm Today.

I left them on the big barrier rocks there.

Find them before the Seagulls critique my Artwork.

"Twinlights" Sketch left at Pebble Beach

Take Me I'm Yours

The Rock it was left on

Good Harbor Beach coming to life

Good Harbor Beach came alive today, with not just people walking their dogs, but people enjoying the sun.  Volley ball games, walkers, runners, or just sitting.

For more photos and slide show  Play slideshow

GMG Kid’s Art Project

Have you ever thought to yourself, “Hey, how could I contribute something for the pages of GMG?”

Well there are many ways, you could always join the GMG Flickr Group Pool and add pictures there like many folks have done.  You could send in a self-stamped and addressed envelope for a GMG sticker and take pictures on your travels for use here on our pages with Da Sticka.

You could send in uplifting stories from around town for us to share.

But now we have another way to get your kids involved (or if you are a big kid feel free to participate).

The GMG Kid’s Art Project!  The premise is pretty simple.  You know those rainy days that we are bound to have all through the spring?  The ones where your kids are climbing the walls?  Have your kids draw a picture and somehow incorporate the Letters GMG or Good Morning Gloucester.  Take a picture of it and send it in.  I’ll post them as they come in and make a slide show with the names of the young artists on each picture.

It could be a picture of anything as long as it has GMG or Good Morning Gloucester clearly visible on it.  Pictures of Lobsters, Seagulls, the Man at The Wheel, A Beach Scene, A Fish- Anything.

How fun would that be?

If there are any art teachers who are looking for art projects for their class I’d love to have entire classes of school kids have their stuff represented and we could post them and give the teachers some props as well!  David and Dawn at Art Haven- I’m talking to you too!  I know you have the cameras and I know you have the kids there.  Bobby Viau-you listening?

The one below was from niece Amanda Mohan to give you an idea of what I’m talking about.

GMG Kid’s Art Project, originally uploaded by captjoe06.