Monthly Archives: February 2010

GMG Q&A -Nancy Hendrickson

Good Morning Gloucester Questionnaire

If you would, answer these questions for sharing in GMG

This should be a fun new feature. If there are any questions that you don’t feel like answering just leave them blank and I’ll edit out the question.

Also if you have a website you would like promoted add it in and I’ll feature it.

www.seasonsmain.com it’s still being worked on, but I’m very excited that my web site is nearly ready.

Local Website everyone should know about (excluding GMG)

www.discovergloucester.com – Linn is doing good work for Gloucester

How long have you lived in Gloucester?
Nearly my whole life – I was born and grew up here. Went away for
college, spent nearly 6 months in England, moved to Denver for a
while, also lived in Manhatten – I never wanted to end up in my home town! But the beauty here and my love for my family convinced me to stay.

What is your favorite season In Gloucester?
I LOVE the fall here – great weather and the most
beautiful sunrises and sunsets; plus the foliage.

Do you have any secret outdoor spots in Gloucester where you go to “get away”?
For me getting away outdoors is getting out in my kayak or simply going for a long walk any time of the year. (I love walking while it’s snowing!!!)
There is a spot on an outcropping at Stage Fort that I used to love, but it’s not secret anymore.

What is your favorite pizza joint in Gloucester?
Maria’s

What is your favorite sub shop in Gloucester?
I haven’t eaten a sub in SO long … but it was Destino’s growing up.

What place would you go for a romantic dinner in Gloucester?
Passports or the Franklin.

What is your favorite bar in Gloucester?
Elliot’s – because I love to go dancing there.

What is your favorite breakfast joint in Gloucester?
Sugar Magnolia’s

What is your favorite local event in Gloucester?
The Block Parties and the Schooner Festival

In the summer do you prefer the beach or to be on a boat?
Boat

Who is your favorite local artist?
My son, Matthew Rose

Which is your favorite local beach?
Good Harbor

Who has the best chowder in town?
I like the Italian Fish chowder at Halibut Point

Excluding GMG what is your second favorite local blog?
http://notsoaimlesswandering.blogspot.com/

Do you prefer haddock chowder or clam chowder?
Haddock

What were your thoughts on The Downtown Block Parties last year?
They are so much fun and so good for this town.
As a shop owner I view them as an opportunity for our citizens to discover what a great Main Street we have and to value and want to keep it.

What is your favorite local band?
I have too many favorites to choose one.

Thanks, Joey

HERE FOR HAITI – Last Night

Click on photo for more.

The Unitarian Universalist Church was filled with love and compassion for the hard-hit Haitian citizens. The music asked us to reflect on our place in the world. Primal drumbeats, eerie strings, melodious harmonies, “fearless dancers” created a  unified energy. The whole room moved to the rhythm and became one with the music. An incredible night.

A huge thank you to Brian King (who asked “Are we really in Gloucester??) and all the musicians and speakers who made this memorable event possible.

Amazing Grace

Alyson M contributed this photo to the Good Morning Gloucester Flickr Group Upload some photos to Flickr and join the group (all for free) and you too could see your pictures here on GMG.

Alyson writes-

Taken at the Annisquam Lighthouse in Gloucester, Massachusetts at the end of summer in ’09. Such an amazing evening there taking photos

Amazing Grace, originally uploaded by Alyson M..

 

Sunset Rock

SUNSET ROCK

This is our Backyard In The Snow. Great view of Sunset Rock with our Vernal Pond in the Foreground.

Due to enviromental Laws we’re not allowed to do much Lawnscaping other than mow, and trim some bushes.

When the conditions are right the Pond makes a great personal Skating rink.

In the Spring the Peepers and Banjo frogs are so loud you can hardly hear yourself.

In a Dry Summer most of the water in the Pond disappears.  The Pond is still active at that time with Blue Herrons, White Egrets,  Humming Birds,  Dragonflys, Foxes and whatever else can land on and crawl around in the Mud.

It’s a very interesting Place.

Can You Guess Why They Call it Sunset Rock?

Sunset Rock Glows

Guess why it's called Sunset Rock