2009 “COOLEST DAD CONTEST” WINNERS!

CAPE POND ICE COMPANY ANNOUNCES

2009 “COOLEST DAD CONTEST” WINNERS!

Cape Pond Ice would like to thank all the proud children who submitted essays and photos for the Cape Pond Ice Company 2009 “Coolest Dad Contest.” Essays from Cape Ann and all over the country came in by hand, mail and e-mail.  All of the nominated Dads clearly qualified for the award in the eyes of their child. Persuasive Coolest Dad nominations were submitted by children of all ages and generations, from age 8 to age 68. All essays and photographs uniquely presented just how “Cool” their Dad is, and our judging team was faced with challenging decisions.

Cape Pond Ice has chosen 3 Winners for 2009 “Coolest Dad”!

Carlos Lovasco (deceased) of Gloucester

Neil Matthews of Gloucester

Tom Mortillaro of Gloucester

All Three Grand Prize Winners will receive “Cape Pond Ice Coolest Guys Collection”

Carlos Lovasco Jr., nominated his “Cool Dad” Carlos who passed away 12 years ago and was a fisherman, but he would rather have been a musician. Carlos Sr. hated fishing but did it as a means to support his family.  When Carlos Jr. would ask to go out fishing with him, his Dad would always take him in hopes that his son would realize how dangerous fishing is and he wanted his son to follow his own path.  Carlos Jr. did follow his own path and did become a musician.

Lindsay Matthews nominated her “Cool Dad” Neil for always being kind, caring and involved in what she does.  But most importantly, she states, “What makes my Dad so special and important to me is the fact that he inspires me everyday to be a better person.” What most inspires me about my Dad’s hard work is that it never ends.  As a daughter I could not have ask for a better role model.

Michael Mortillaro nominated his “Cool Dad” Tom for being the glue and love that keeps me happy, healthy and most of all, never giving up!  He teaches me new things and lets me know when I need steering in the right direction. I know my Dad will always be there for me.  I can only hope to grow up to be such a caring and understanding person as my Dad is.

As the “Grand Prize” “Coolest Dads” winners, Carlos Lovasco, Neil Matthews, and Tom Mortillaro have won “Cape Pond Ice Coolest Guys Gift Collections.”

Cape Pond Ice would also like to recognize the following 2009 “Coolest Dad” submissions with Honorable Mention Awards :

Arthur Brodeur from Eastford, Connecticut nominated by his daughter Jennifer

Sane Skinner from Gloucester nominated by his sons Shawn & Cameron

Chris Funk from Rockport nominated by his daughters Veronica & Eliana

Ian Milgram from Glouceseter nominated by his daughter Eden Wilkins

Ralph Hendrickson from Florida nominated by his daughter Cynthia

Mr Cabral from Gloucester nominated by his daughter Gianna

Scott Prentiss of Rockport nominated by his son Henry (age 8)

Alan Murray of Gloucester nominated by his son Brent (age 13)

Richard Lussier of Gloucester nominated by his sons Jacques & James (ages 11 & 13)

Bill Papp of Gloucester nominated by his daughter Grace Papp

All of the 2009 “Coolest Dads” will receive a Cape Pond Ice Gift Certificate!  Cape Pond Ice would like to thank all who participated this year.  All of the essays submitted were wonderful and in the eyes of the children making their nominations, you all are the “COOLEST DADS AROUND!”


2 comments

  • Heh Joey,
    I see that I won the Cape Pond Ice Company’s “Coolest Dad” contest…very cool!! However, could you pass along to all involved in announcing the winners that my name is CARLO (not Carlos…I’m a WOP, not a Wetback!). It’s a very common mistake, especially here in Florida, but in my hometown it’s real important to me, and I’m sure some of my relatives, to get both my father’s and my name right.
    Thanks a lot.
    CARLO Lovasco

    Like

  • Lori Ataya (Lovasco)

    Papa was ” a cool Grandfather too”
    your a cool daddy!
    Awesome that you won!

    Like

Leaving a comment rewards the author of this post- add to the discussion here-

